Dicers/serato
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Dicers/serato

  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Dicers/serato

    hello there...

    i use the dicers with techs 1210,s and serato...

    the problem im having is when i hit the buttons on the dicer the needles are picking up the vibration as i am effectively hitting the deck....
    i can get rid of this buy setting the threshold of serato to -24 but then scratching and playing in reverse are affected....

    i am using orfton pro s needles.....

    are the any types of needle that are better at not picking up the vibration? or anything i can do to help this

    thanks

    david

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Anaheim, CA
    Posts
    1,429

    Default

    thats a great question.

    hopefully ean will get a chance to chime in as im pretty sure he designed them for novation.
    Baked Chicken | Brown Rice | Asparagus | Apple Juice | Snack Wells | Pretzel Chips | Lots of Water

  3. #3
    DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,905

    Default

    This should not be a problem with 1210's.

    What sort of bench are they sitting on?

    Have you check you tone arm balance etc?

  4. #4
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    they are just sitting on a normal office table.....its quite sturdy

    ive tried the weight at various postions...heavy or light it still
    picks up the vibrations......

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,411

    Default

    You're bashing them too hard. I'm using Dicers with no problem (besides mapping ) whatsoever...

    You can get away with hitting them quite hard without transferring the vibration to the needle. I can't imagine how hard you must be bashing them!
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    588

    Default

    Do they absolutely have to be sitting on your deck?

    I'd just move them to beneath the mixer or something.

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Marriottsville, MD
    Posts
    29

    Default

    You might want to check into getting a pair of Freefloats. They are an inflatable shock absorber you put under your turntables. I've used these in several different scenarios and I've found they work really well even under some pretty extreme conditions.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,411

    Default

    Spending money ain't the answer. Just learn to bash a little softer!
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor PartyMcFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    455

    Default

    Soft hands... a la Mighty Ducks.

  10. #10
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    when you are assigning cue points and are playing in beat you have to hit the pads quite hard to keep rhythm....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •