Which DAW ;beginner
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Which DAW ;beginner

I am just a beginner and have some past experiences in pianos but not the basics like music structure, notes etc, not a lot of cords. So i want to create trance house music like armin van burren ,tiesto, bt ,andy moor etc. I have still got my old midi keyboard to use as a controller routed through a UM1G.

Which daw should i start with and which synths plugins and if some study material about synths.
    THANKS IN ADVANCE

pick a few DAWs you've already heard of and demo them.

as far as synth advice, read up on learning how to program a synth. start with subtractive, [ame="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subtractive_synthesis"]Subtractive synthesis - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia[/ame]

^^ What he said. Most of the major DAWs have downloadable demos. Reaper/Live/Sonar/Studio One all have downloadable demos that you can use to see which suits you best. Cubase/Nuendo and Logic do not. All of them pretty much provide you same feature set and plug-ins, but the main difference between them all are the workflows. So spend some time with the demos and see which DAW fits you best.
    MacBook Pro 2.4GHz Core i7 :: Mac OS X Mountain Lion 10.10.5
    Traktor Pro 2.9 :: Launchpad :: MIDI Fighter Pro Beatmasher/3D

I'm really starting to get sick of this whole what daw/synth/software should I use thing. So I'm just going to keep this short and simple. This is what you want:

Ableton Live 8
    Native Instruments Massive
    Lennar Digital Sylenth1

Tech Mentor

Quote Originally Posted by kilobytekaushik View Post
    I am just a beginner and have some past experiences in pianos but not the basics like music structure, notes etc, not a lot of cords. So i want to create trance house music like armin van burren ,tiesto, bt ,andy moor etc. I have still got my old midi keyboard to use as a controller routed through a UM1G.