Mapping X1 as MidiFighter
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default Mapping X1 as MidiFighter

    Hi Everyone,

    I'm trying to change the notes in midi mode on my X1 cos I'm getting impatient already while I wait for my midifighter.

    The idea is to map them out like so:

    C3 C#3 D3 D#3
    G#2 A2 A#2 B2
    E2 F2 F#2 G2
    C2 C#2 D2 D#2

    To emulate the MF until it arrives!

    However, I can't seem to make controller editor work properly. I've changed the buttons to notes, channel 3, the configuration above but according to traktor and midi monitor that's not what it's outputting. It's probably something really silly that i haven't noticed.

    For example, the left hand column comes out as E0, G#0, C1 and E1

    Here's a screencap just to show you, any ideas?

    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  2. #2
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    let me know if you get this working i like the idea

  3. #3
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    I'm hoping the answers will appear on here! There must be someone with experience of controller editor.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  4. #4
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AboveDat! View Post
    let me know if you get this working i like the idea
    OK, managed it finally!

    If you look at the picture I posted earlier you can see that I'd actually just renamed the button to the name of the note, not actually changed its value (on the right hand side). Noticed that, all fine.

    HOWEVER, there's something very strange going on. It was sending midi on the right channels according to midi monitor, but when i did a test in traktor by adding another IN to the mapping and using learn, it was reading it as one value higher than it actually was. So C#3 came out as C#4 etc. Readjusted the assignments in controller and it literally does work as a midifighter, although the buttons are a little smaller!

    No LED feedback yet, that's my next challenge. Let me know if you need any help man.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    393

    Default

    I have a mapping for this already. let me know if you want it. led feedback.

    i had to remap it...

  6. #6
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by armyofme4340 View Post
    I have a mapping for this already. let me know if you want it. led feedback.

    i had to remap it...
    How did you do the LEDs? I assumed they'd work since they're on the same notes as the buttons (or so I thought) but no joy.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  7. #7
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    yeah would love a tsi from who ever figures this out

  8. #8
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AboveDat! View Post
    yeah would love a tsi from who ever figures this out
    The tsi I'm using is the midifighter deckalized mapping, currently completely unchanged. All I did was edit the notes in controller editor. I don't know if it's possible to edit LED notes, armyofme share your knowledge!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  9. #9
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    stupid mode off/ yeah sorry for got it was a mf mapping,i hate control editor but will do it as i like the idea

    have you tried doing the leds as outputs in traktor?

  10. #10
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    The LEDs are all in the MF mapping and routed to the same midi notes as the buttons they should be activating, but nothing happens :S

    Thought it might be something to do with the strange difference in note values I mentioned before, but tried to set the play LED to the actual note displayed in controller editor and still nothing.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •