Beginner DJ setup - help please
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Beginner DJ setup - help please

Hello everyone!

First I would like to introduce myself. I'm a 21-year old student from Rijeka, Croatia (for those of you which don't know where Croatia is, it's a small country next to Italy, and also I would apologize for my english, I know it's not perfect )

Me and my friend are reading and following this blog already a long time, and we've been thinking to start DJ-ing even a longer time.

We would play as a duo, mainly french electro, some drum'n'base and dupstep. Our software of choice is Traktor running on a MBP.
    We have a few questions about the hardware, and hope we could get some help here.
    We've been thinking of the following setup's:

a) Traktor Kontrol S4

b) Kontrol X1 + Audio 2 DJ soundcard + a 3-channel mixer

c) VCI-100 + Audio 2 DJ soundcard

d) your suggestion

+ maybe a small MIDI controller? It would be perfect if you could suggest us something from AKAI or KORG, as those are available here in Croatia. If not we can order it from the internet.

As we are beginners it should be something not to complex to use, but it should be also something what we can use later as we advance. The price range is at the above listed setups. 100-200$ more or less doesn't matter if the other setup is better. We would use the setup in a club when we get good enough, but also for doing some remixes at home.

Thank you for your help!

get a good 4 channel mixer (i would go for the xone 42)
    then a couple of xone 1d's or x1's
    and a soundcard of your choice

i am not a fan really of all in one units,+having a standalone mixer you can add as many midi controllers as you want or if you out grow a bit of kit you can easy replace that part.and you would not have to carry a big unit to gigs just what you needed

Well as for a beginner i don't see the s4 to be starting controller.