Cool article and video on how to sync Ableton and Traktor on one computer
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default Cool article and video on how to sync Ableton and Traktor on one computer

    http://blog.dubspot.com/syncing-ableton-live-traktor/


    Never realized Traktor had a virtual midi port, this should make life a hell of a lot easier now!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    about 4 topics on this video allready mate.

    and this only works on mac<3333333

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    D'oh! Mods, please delete this thread

    = p

  4. #4
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AboveDat! View Post
    about 4 topics on this video allready mate.

    and this only works on mac<3333333
    http://www.djtechtools.com/2008/04/0...-with-ableton/

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Yeah, I've read those, but with this set up you don't need any third party software, just Traktor and Ableton

  6. #6
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    I dont know if this is a general issue with the midi sync, in the tutorial he has traktor set as master clock, but I found when using Traktor as the clock the fluctuation between both programs was as much as +-3bpm constantly.

    Using Ableton as the master everything works like a charm though and (if you have a mac) Even cooler is you can use a virtual soundcard driver (soundflower) to input 8 channels of 4 decks as inputs on 4 (or more) channels in Ableton.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor DennisHuiberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Posts
    412

    Default

    Try changing the tempo in Ableton and see what Traktors tempo does . The only way to keep it workable is to have your master tempo the same throughout your whole project. Ableton-Traktor midi sync is terrible...
    Check out my work!

    Vestax VCM-600 (for sale!) - Allen & Heath Xone:62 - Focusrite Saffire LE - Ultimate Ears Triple.Fi 10 Pro - Traktor Pro 2.1 - Ableton Live 8 - MacBook Pro 15"

  8. #8
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Its a weird one,

    Traktor as Master > Ableton Fluctuating Wildly +-3 BPM

    Ableton as Master > Traktor Stays within +-.02 BPM

    Its plenty accurate enough for sampling and retriggering loops in Ableton so i'm not worried.

    Using the Midi clock app for OSX resulted in the same weirdness on the clock in Ableton but works perfect as a sync in traktor. Using ableton as the master is fine with me though I prefer fine pitching with my Jogs in traktor anyhow to keep the main tunes in sync rather than nudging loops n' stuffs in Ableton.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    So you're still using the control vinyl/cd's then?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    No i'm not, i'm using a controller, I don't see any reason why I couldn't use control vinyl but it'd defeat the purpose of using midi to sync the 2 softwares 99% of the time.... it would of course allow scratching though which (if your into it) might be useful.

    I don't spend alot of time beat gridding so do have to use the ears every so often when things go outta whack.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •