how to tweak old sets/mixes

Default how to tweak old sets/mixes

Hi all,

I have a couple classic sets/mixes done by larry levan....but some of these sets sounds very muffled and loose alot of their sound quality...i was just wondering if there is any techniques or applications i can use to salvage some of these classic sets...

thank you in advance....

cheers
    chubbz

equing with wavelab or similar would maybe help? What is the medium we are talking about? Tapes?

Hi there nemo,

Thank you fer your quick response, all the sets i downloaded was in mp3 format and had very low bit rate. I dont knw what they used originally to record the sets, if thats what u asking... am not too sure wether the low quality of these sets are due to how they were recorded originally or whoever uploaded them on the net bungled the transfer to mp3. Sorry cant give you more info as i am complete noob in these things...

cheers
    chubbz

Quote Originally Posted by Chubbz View Post
    Hi there nemo,

Thank you fer your quick response, all the sets i downloaded was in mp3 format and had very low bit rate. I dont knw what they used originally to record the sets, if thats what u asking... am not too sure wether the low quality of these sets are due to how they were recorded originally or whoever uploaded them on the net bungled the transfer to mp3. Sorry cant give you more info as i am complete noob in these things...

cheers
    chubbz
    Hellou!

Well, then as I suggested, I would use some automated eq or even normalization on the low/garbeled parts. Maybe if you can give me a link to one of them, I can have a listen and see what can be done with some jedi tricks

cheers mate...heres the link http://www.fullbozman.com/

you click on the artist larry levan...theres a whole bunch of sets done by levan...this site has quite a collection of house djs be sure to check them out too...let me knw if you can do anythin to the levans set...

cheers
    chubbz