Faderfox DJ2 and Akai Mpd24
    Tech Wizard

Default Faderfox DJ2 and Akai Mpd24

I've been using the faithfully badass DJ2 for a year now and I just added on the mpd24. This will be my first mapping, and I have a few questions. Specifically, what do I need to watch out for when I assign button features in terms of overlapping CC numbers and midi commands? Basically, I want to use the akai to control loops, effects and cue points in Traktor pro. Has anyone already done this or have any helpful tips?

Your life will be greatly improved if you set the MPD24 to output on a different MIDI channel. Trying to interweave two devices on the same channel is a recipe for a headache, especially when the 16 MIDI channels were invented to solve this exact problem.

After that set your software to listen for "omni" MIDI messages (i.e. I don't care what MIDI channel it comes in on) and you're golden.

Tech Wizard

thanks for your help. i am a total beginner when it comes to programming things like this. i've messed with the tks for just the faderfox so that it fits my liking, but I have no idea what it means to change a midi channel or how to even go about it. thanks. also, do you recommend working with the exisiting faderfox mappings and integrating the akai into it, or just starting from scratch? there are some things that the faderfox mapping controls that are perfect and i don't want to mess with them at all, such as being able to continue playing the record from a cue instead of having to specifically hit the play button, as well as the use of the joystick for effects.

It's in the MPD24 manual (if this link doesn't work for you, go to http://www.akaipro.com and select "Support/Documents & Downloads"):

http://www.akaipro.com/stuff/content...anual_v1_5.pdf