Jogwheel Scratching Advice
    Tech Convert

Default Jogwheel Scratching Advice

Hi Everybody,

I used to be a drummer (so juggling/looping is relatively easy) and I am still a new DJ. I own a Vestax Spin, but once I get the hang of things I'll be looking to upgrade to an S4. I have the money already set aside, but I don't want to invest the money because I do not want to be the guitarist who has a $15k instrument and not know how to play it.

So my question is, can anybody give me advice for scratching on Jogwheels?

I am a college student looking to DJ at parties so scratching is a must, but I am not looking to necessarily be a battle DJ. Can anybody give me any tips to learning how to scratch on a jogwheel? Most the videos on youtube focus on real turntables.

Or am I better off investing in real turntables (I am guessing the same amount of money could get me a start up set).

Thanks!

Tech Mentor

I would steer you away from the S4, scratching will be much better on the VCI-100 or VCI-300. It'll cost a lot less too. Even better would be a controller designed for scratching, the NS7.

DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar

i don't consider myself a scratch dj but think of it like you were scratchin on or near the vinyl's label, so every movement is "smaller". This means you won't be moving your hand as much and every move needs to be even more precise.

other than that, most of the tip apply the same, except for taking the disc's position as reference for cueing (only works if the deck is stopped or you have motorized platters. I wish you could activate the timecode display in tracktor with controllers and at least have this reference on the screen.

If you really want to get into it just get TTs and you will have enough room to move comfortably among other benefits of "the real deal".

Tech Guru

ill sell you my vci 300, its only about a month and a half old =p