controller, cdj, or turntables. just curious...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Mentor

Default controller, cdj, or turntables. just curious...

i'm fairly new to djing and i've just been practicing on my mixtrack. i mix electro-house type of stuff but im wondering. what do most dj's use for their gigs? i have yet to see anyone use a controller in the club (btw im not trying to bag on anyone who does). i see a lot of them using cdj's.

the reason im asking is cuz i cant choose between an s4 or cdj's with serato. the more logical way to go would be to buy an s4 since it would cost much less and it will come with traktor 2 soon . thanks for the feedback.

Tech Wizard

When I started I felt like vinyl was the best to start with so I got a time coded vinyl setup. If you want to be taken seriously in the clubs in the near future, you MUST know how to use vinyl/cdj(either or, depends on the venue). Im not sure if this will change anytime soon.

To me, playing with a controller feels like only half the experience. It doesnt take long to beatmatch. If you have enough skill, you can beatmatch AND do fancy loops and stuff. I also favor traktor over serato but whatever floats your boat.

Again, this is just my opinion, do what you feel is best and what is comfortable to you.

Tech Mentor

ya i was thinking of getting turntables with serato before the s4 because cdj's are way out of my price range. then i saw traktor 2 is coming out... what turntables/mixer did you start out with?

where i sit on this is that you have to have the ability to mix with anything , its much easier to learn using cdjs then use traktor/serato than the other way around , if you learn without the visual element and the aid of sync etc, just with your ears. Learning on a dvs is like learning to drive an automatic car , if u get put in a manual , ul probably stall .