Speaker wire hooks to RCA?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48

    Default Speaker wire hooks to RCA?

    I have a Numark DJ|iO with RCA outputs, and a pair of monitor speakers with positive/negative wire hooks. How would I go about connecting them to each other? (photo provided below for illustration)


  2. #2
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    Do you need some type of amp to power the speakers? if you do...you have to use some type of home stereo to power the speakers.

    DJ IO>RCA>HOME STEREO LINE IN>SPEAKER CABLE>SPEAKER = MUSIC!
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Krilikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nj
    Posts
    422

    Default

    Like he said

    And in case you dont know inside "RCA" wire there are two wires that are positive and negative. You would need to strip the wire at one end.

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Hmm, so it looks like I'll need an extra piece of gear after all. :|

    I just had a pretty wild idea. The way my room is set up, the TV (32" Samsung) is wall-mounted just above the desk where all my gear sits. Would it be reasonable to hook up my DJ|iO to the TV and use that as a bedroom monitor?

  5. #5
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    yeah you can hook it up an A/V input & even hook up you latop to the vga input if you tv has one. But you risking blowing the speakers, I would rather blow out some desktop speakers than the ones on my LCD TV.
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48

    Default

    True that! I previously had my eye on the Studiophile AV 20 speakers by M-Audio. They're about $50 on Amazon, which seems pretty damn cheap for RCA speakers, so I guess I'll be grabbing those.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Krilikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nj
    Posts
    422

    Default

    that or get computer speakers and then buy a cross cable from RCA female to 3.5 male ... and then youll need a female to female 3.5 piece.

    its confusing

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48

    Default

    After reading the "why multiple outputs?" thread, I think I'm going to begin by trying to mix with only my headphones and switching between the master and preview outputs.

  9. #9
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    I take it the speakers are not powered - you will need an amplifier.

    Are they passive or active monitors ?

    The easiest way to tell is that active monitors also have a power cable running into them while passive monitors do not.

    Basically passive monitors need an amp, active monitors do not.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor nemo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Helltown Sweden
    Posts
    365

    Default

    Time for me to finish that: How to hook up your audio Tutorial

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •