Help a New DJ learn
    Tech Student

Default Help a New DJ learn

OK guys, I am very new to the world of DJing, I have been interested in DJing and producing for a while now and have had some experience at house parties with my mates setup. Recently I bought a DDM4000. After quite a while of research it seemed like the best choice; It's digital, 4 channel, has a sample bank and effects. Not to mention the outrageously low price! As soon as I got the thing home, I plugged it in to my MacBook and booted up Traktor. I figured out how to map it, and have been using it without CD players for about a week. One thing I have noticed is that the effect, gain and some of the other controls are not able to be mapped (due to them being analogue). So I was wondering, how does one use the DDM as it was intended, like having full use of all the knobs and features, but still using my computer to load up the tracks, display the information, etc. I was thinking of buying second hand CDJ 850s to go with it. What program would be ideal for this use and what other hardware would I need to have the setup I desire?

Sorry if there is already an existing thread, I only did a quick search before posting this.

Tech Mentor

You will need a soundcard (Audio 4, Audio 8 or in April the Audio 10) and then run Traktor in external mode. That way traktor will output track A to channel 1, track B to channel 2 etc. That way you can use the DDMs internal effects while still using traktor for your tracks. Personally I would use the sampler in midi mode and use the buttons to control Traktor but that is up to you, you can still use it for its traditional use if you set up Traktor in this way

Tech Guru

Hi Schroeder and welcome to the forum!

I wouldn't buy a CDJ just for traktor control (been there with CDJ-400s, no point at all).