Ground Loops - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: Ground Loops

  1. #11
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    The Anglo-Canadian Agreement.

  2. #12
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    That's an official AC agreement (ouf....)

  3. #13
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    8,957

    Default

    I think its a Mining company... maybe not so cool in that respect but definitely cool in ours. :-)

  4. #14
    Tech Guru farhanashraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    1,780

    Default

    just ground it!
    Quote Originally Posted by theory28 View Post
    iatf = in after the farhanashraf
    Quote Originally Posted by theory28 View Post
    its ibtf! iatf is too easy to get!
    who we r
    what we have done

  5. #15
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    East Grinstead, UK
    Posts
    52

    Default

    care to explain how!? (:

  6. #16
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    KY, USA
    Posts
    648

    Default

    Ground loops occur when 2 or more connected devices are fighting for the ground giving that horrible buzz sound. I've never experienced them, or heard of anyone else for that matter, with DJing.

    But you can use a ground lifter to dedicate the ground to one device.

  7. #17
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    This solution work in many situation, while illegal in other country.

    Lifting AC ground is a short term solution, while Audio & Galvanic Isolation (Audio transformer, ground loop isolator, proper use of balanced line, USB isolation,etc) is the most suitable for long term and safe solution.

  8. #18
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    East Grinstead, UK
    Posts
    52

    Default

    I do have a behringer di box, but its only one channel, would the simplest solution be get another one? but i have my laptop, amp, and decks all connected into 3 seperate sockets, so i guess thats 3 groundings?

  9. #19
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    Run your laptop from battery first, if it solve the problem, you may want to buy another DI, or try a dual Ground Loop Isolator. There's quite a few variant of it, from 15$ (typical model looks like http://indashpc.org/new/images/articles/image020.jpg) to several hundred bucks. Pricing goes with the internal Audio Transformer quality.

    Check at your local pro audio store.

    EDIT: While not the best solution (sound quality wise) having one (or couple) of those stereo ground loop isolator in stock is always handy.
    Last edited by Steve Zorilow; 02-16-2011 at 05:25 PM.

  10. #20
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    East Grinstead, UK
    Posts
    52

    Default

    I bought one of those ground isolators, but it just made the problem worse and horrendous noises when it got knocked. Running on battery clears the noise, i just dont have enough juice in the thing to do a whole party, and i run it down and plug it in as it makes a pop noise. looks like im buying another di box!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •