Go back to CDJs?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Go back to CDJs?

Hey Guys,

I've been Dj-ing for about 2 or 3 months now. My current set up is:

2 Midi Fighters and a DDM-4000 with Traktor Pro in external mode.

Since I've started out with this unconventional Digital set up and am loving EVERY minute of it.

Does it make sense to go out and learn how to ''really'' DJ, as one of my friends was saying? He said that I should learn the in's and out's of a proper laptop-less set up. But, I'm never going to be using one of those set ups in any performance. It'll ultimately, just be a skill I'll have in my arsenal but won't get much use.

So, should I learn how to DJ without laptops and controllers? or keep honing my controllerist craft?

Tech Guru

it depends what kind of gig you're going for.

it might matter in some scenes more than it does others, so just scout out what flies at the type of shows you're shooting for.

don't rely on your buddy's opinion as the law, chances are he's just threatened by the new wave gear and is trying to save face with that old "that's not real djing" bullshit. it's 2011 and midi controller djing is about as real as it gets.

It's up to you really! The old hackneyed "beatmatching or not" debate has been circulating since the advent of the sync button, and I suppose my opinion on the subject is that it's a skill worth learning in the fullness of time but you don't necessarily have to do it just yet (or indeed ever, depending on what sort of format your sets are taking). This article from digitalDJtips covers it quite well.

http://www.digitaldjtips.com/2011/02...-to-beatmatch/

In general, there's absolutely no need to give up controllerism until you've learned to beatmatch. Stick with what you've got and if you get an opportunity to have a good practice on a pair of decks or CDJs then take it.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5