Complete Beginner (Q's on Digital DJing)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Complete Beginner (Q's on Digital DJing)

Hello.

To introduce myself, I'm a dude over in New York who composes music mainly electronically using programs like FL Studio, Ableton Live, and a few other apps. Now as much fun as it is for me to write music, I feel that if I learn to dj, it will enable me to get a much better understanding on how to mix my own tracks for a live performance. Basically the goal I have in mind is to ultimately perform all of my material through a DJ interface. Allowing me to mashup different tracks and do all that fancy footwork that without fail causes my jaw to drop.

My question, is what do you think the best way, or method, or any advice at all would be on learning to dj using nothing but a midi controller and software. I'm pretty much broke for the moment, so I'm hoping that learning this way would force me to open up my budget for a DJ specific midi controller. I apologize if the question is vague. I've been researching, watching vids, reading threads and tuts on mixing, what gear to use, why you use it and all that jazz. Although, everything I've looked up is based on some kind of physical dj gear. Whether it be Vinyl tables, CD decks, or those mp3 decks. But as I stated, I really don't have the money at the moment to spend on two decks and a mixer...like at all.

One key thing that I see mentioned all over the place is the importance of beat matching. Now I REALLY REALLY wanna learn how to do this, yet at the same time, all I have to do is hit sync...and there we go...well as long as the tempo detected is correct (I'm still tryin to figure out how to correct this). And for the moment since I'm not really using any physical setup aside from my controller, I don't see where learning this would be too significant.