X1, Audio 2, and mixer as only laptop-DJ equipment?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default X1, Audio 2, and mixer as only laptop-DJ equipment?

Hi all,

I have a decent PA setup and I really want to start DJing using Traktor. The S4 looks beautiful and has all I need, but unfortunately it is out of my price range.

So I was wondering if, for starters (I am a beginner at Traktor), would it do with a Laptop + Audio 2 soundcard + Behringer mixer + Kontrol X1?
    I mean, would I be able to sync beats, navigate in Traktor, and do looping? I'm thinking thats all I'll need to begin with. It will set me back about $300, whereas the S4 is $900..

All input appreciated!

Hey Axman,

I don't recommend this set up, in my opinion it's very handy to have jogwheels, because sometimes the song just isn't perfectly in sync with your other song, and you'll need to do a little pitch bending.

I also don't recommend Behringer mixers, one it's channels just gave up on me while I was spinning at a gig.

Tech Convert

OK thanks. Just so we're on the same level, I'll be using this setup at private parties mostly, no major gigs.
    Your jog wheel point makes sense though.. Are there any cheaper options for me with jog wheels, or is the S4 just to good of an all in one package to bother messing with options? Also, do you think the S4 price will fall by summer?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Axman84 View Post
    OK thanks. Just so we're on the same level, I'll be using this setup at private parties mostly, no major gigs.
    Your jog wheel point makes sense though.. Are there any cheaper options for me with jog wheels, or is the S4 just to good of an all in one package to bother messing with options? Also, do you think the S4 price will fall by summer?

Thanks!
    Hey, no problem man ;-)
    I was on a small party too when my right channel just gave up, I was lucky enough my music wasn't playing on that deck, and it the last half hour .