Question: Traktor LE trouble, help plz
    Tech Wizard

Default Question: Traktor LE trouble, help plz

OK so I just got my new VCI-100 in the mail this morning (I'm new to this thing...) and installed the Traktor LE software that is supplied by Vestex. I didn't have any trouble w/ installation...

BUT even tho it recognizes the VCI-100 as the MIDI controller, when I use controls on the VCI it does not perform the corresponding function in Traktor LE (i.e. when I move the crossfader on the VCI, the crossfader in Traktor does not move)

also, im having issues playing tracks in either deck. After I drag and drop a track into either deck A or deck B, when I click the play button in Traktor the track doesnt play. also ont allow me to navigate through the track by dragging the wave...

I should also mention I'm running it on Mac OSX

Any ideas? I didn't try to trouble shoot this one for very long, so maybe I'm missing something obvious?
    [mike.frank]

You need to open the right TKS file for the VCI-100 - it should be in the tks directory.

Just go into the midi mappings menu and click load, then open the vci-100 tks file from there.

Tech Wizard

^cool, thanks. i think i just need to get more familiar with the navigation of Traktor

BUT anyone else have any idea why i cant even get a track to play on either deck?
    [mike.frank]

Have you selected your soundcard in the soundcard menu ? - id recommend reading the manual it will help you alot betting setup and familiarised with the interface.

Tech Wizard

^no manual was provided :-P

i'll try to dig up a pdf file for it right now, that will more than likely come in handy
    [mike.frank]

Tech Wizard

found the location to the Tech Manual... i would assume if i dont have the soundcard set up for the master output it wont allow the tracks to play... this sound reasonable?

also, do i NEED an external sound card in order to get started? like i said, i'm completely new to this stuff...
    [mike.frank]