How to remix
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: How to remix

  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    9

    Default How to remix

    Hi all!

    So now I've been listening to all sorts of remixes the past 20 years and I thought to my self, why not try making some myself!

    First I read this guide to remixing (funny).

    As I've got this passion for old funk/disco my first idea is to shine some of these up like Pilooski or some other dj.

    I'm getting Reason4 for my MacBook Pro very soon but I'd like to tips/guides/links to get started. Is Reason4 the right choice?
    Last edited by Oskar Rough; 01-11-2009 at 05:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    I love Reason, but you're going to need either ReCycle or some sort of DAW (FL Studio, Project5, etc.) to layer the originals with the new tracks. ReCycle allows you to work exclusively in Reason, so that might be a good option to look at.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hey, thanks.

    Alright, I'll try out Reason and ReCycle. So in ReCycle I basically slice the track up for import to Reason. In Reason I add custom basslines, drums and manage all the "slices"?

  4. #4
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Exactly. I'd say do some work in Reason alone first, cause it is a different style of software than Logic/Cubase/Sonar/etc. etc. etc.. Also make sure to get Reason Power! and whatever ReCycle guides there are to take the greatest amount of advantage of the warez. Good luck to ya
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  5. #5
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,004

    Default

    Sorry, for remixes and other music production, I am more of an Ableton freak.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  6. #6
    DJTT Super Moderator midifidler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,905

    Default

    Second on the Ableton freak front ... its awesome for remixes edits etc

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Kaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Tron, Noiseeland
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    i am able to (n) concur
    and in a somewhat hyperactive mood.

    ableton is sweet

    beer is to horse as sandwhich is to ableton
    Quote Originally Posted by dripstep View Post
    Kaon, none of that has to do with drum and bass.

  8. #8
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Id use Ableton too, that way when your working on production mixes you are at the same time gaining valuable knowledge about Ableton which is much more usable in a live envrioment.

    Thats not to say Reason is no good - its just that Ableton will teach you some more usable skills when it comes to performing live(even if you are doing production).

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Monika.mhz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    987

    Default

    I used to use reason on everything I did. Now I barely break it out.

    The only times I do break it out is for quick remix jobs. However, my best remix work comes out of this combo:
    Ableton 7
    Melodyne
    Access Virus Ti
    Nord Lead 2x

    If I have to snag a sample and stretch it, etc I use Melodyne now. It's got a waaay better algorithm for that sort of thing, vs Dr. Rex and Recycle.
    Monika.mhz - I do things. Also stuff.
    -------------------
    Read the F.A.Q!
    Articles: Streamline Your Laptop for Djs(Windows)

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    202

    Default

    I tend to do all the time stretchery stuff in Ableton and then export into Cubase SL3 because IMO the midi piano roll implementation in Ableton is pants.

    Then Battery 3 for all drum programming, Korg Legacy collection (polysix and MS20 ftw!) and Arturia Arp V2600 which has a gorgeous sound.

    Extract of a remix here (only up for 24 hours so be quick):

    >>clicky<<

    I know there's too much compression on it

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •