Anyone find it harder to grid in TPro 2?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,547

    Default Anyone find it harder to grid in TPro 2?

    Hey everybody, had my first gig last night with TP2 it performed flawlessly. One thing I noticed though is that with the new waveforms the first beat isn't as clearly defined. I felt in TPro 1 it was really easy to nail the 1st beat but with the new spectrum it's hard to be accurate. Anyone else feel the same way

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Nesquigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Boston MA
    Posts
    1,324

    Default

    glad it went well man, were you gridding on the spot?

    cant you hear when the first beat is and grid from there as a benchmark to find where it is??
    Quote Originally Posted by Xonetacular View Post
    Ya I've heard one song. It's called Skrillex.
    13" Macbook - 256gb SSD, 750gb HDD, 8gb Ram ❘ DDJ-SX | HDJ-2000
    Kontrol Z1 | Midifighter 3D | Kontrol X1

  3. #3

    Default

    I find it much easier now that I can zoom all the way in then set it then tap the = button and have it in normal view. though 1 song I had to set 2 grids =p damn you breakdown being offbeat
    /人◕‿‿◕人\
    --Its not the OS, It's the user--

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,547

    Default

    Most grids were laid out well there was just a few that were off compared to when I was using Traktor Pro S4. The Tap function in S4 was unreal, and now i'm feeling it's not as accurate in Pro 2, could just be a placebo effect. I also had the Instant Gratification mapping on my Maschine, unreal.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,744

    Default

    No. It was a lot easier the old way to have it be kinda-sorta in the right place and fool yourself into thinking you got it right because it just didn't give enough detail.

    The "beat" goes at the beginning of the peak of the attack of the hit, so if you put it at the start of the tallest peak of what sounds like a kick, it's right. Just do it that way for all of your tracks.

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,314

    Default

    piece of cake
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn We Go Hard!
    Posts
    804

    Default

    Do you guys find the bpm isn't accurate? I find that auto grid isn't working nearly as well as the S4 software.
    :: Kontrol Z2 :: :: Technics 1200 :: :: Pioneer DJM 250 :: Kontrol X1 MkII :: :: Maschine :: :: Kontrol S4 ::

  8. #8
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mostapha View Post
    No. It was a lot easier the old way to have it be kinda-sorta in the right place and fool yourself into thinking you got it right because it just didn't give enough detail.

    The "beat" goes at the beginning of the peak of the attack of the hit, so if you put it at the start of the tallest peak of what sounds like a kick, it's right. Just do it that way for all of your tracks.
    This, and using the metronome

  9. #9
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Personally I don't care for the inbuilt bpm detection of any software. The beat grid is the best tool for detection of bpm I have ever come across and I absolutely adore it. I wish there was a plugin for audacity that mimicked it so I could use it on linux.

  10. #10
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    I've only gridded about 7 or 8 songs with T2. It seems to be about the same as S4, but time will tell.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •