Analyzing BPM in Traktor 2.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Coldfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,100

    Default Analyzing BPM in Traktor 2.

    Hey Guys,

    I recently have been trying to add hip hop to my arsenal of genre's that I play. I've always usually loved and listened to a lot of hip hop and rap and such, and now I want to spin it as well.

    The problem is my BPMs for hip hop are all over the place. I talked to DJ Streetfighta on here and he told me to re-analyze my BPM for my hip hop tracks and such separately from 60 bpm to 120 bpm. I was wondering what would be the most effective way to go about doing that?

    I have also found a lot of my Dubstep tracks BPM have been displaying as if they are 70bpm instead of 140, I understand it's half time and all Dubstep is in 140 (or maybe it's vice versa I don't remember) anyway is there anyway for me to fix that as well?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    In your preferences there's a BPM range you can set. If you want all your dubstep to read out as 140, then set that range to 135-150. Sometimes it'll be off and you'll have to fix it, but change it around when you analyze other genres.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  3. #3
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DvlsAdvct View Post
    In your preferences there's a BPM range you can set. If you want all your dubstep to read out as 140, then set that range to 135-150. Sometimes it'll be off and you'll have to fix it, but change it around when you analyze other genres.
    this!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Coldfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,100

    Default

    Yes, but that sets the range for ALL tracks. How do I do just one genre?

  5. #5
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    You don't.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  6. #6
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    It only sets it for that insant of running the analysis. If you change it the tracks already gridded won't change.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Coldfuzion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DvlsAdvct View Post
    It only sets it for that insant of running the analysis. If you change it the tracks already gridded won't change.
    Ahh I gotcha. I'll try it tonight!

    And I had an epiphany on the way to school. I was like "why am I so focused on BPM of a track when I can simply beat match the tracks together by ear!" lol. I guess that's another "symptom" of digital DJing :eek: .

  8. #8
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    That's true too. I use the BPM rating also as a form of understanding how the track feels. A song might be 140 bpm but it will feel 70.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •