Midi mapping advice for 'combo' effects.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Midi mapping advice for 'combo' effects.

Alright, so I'm trying to map a few combos similar to the midi-fighter ones using my Akai LPD8, but I've run into a hitch with modifiers. I know run of the mill programming logic, so I thought I could stumble through the logic of the program, but I've hit a wall.

Here's the main method I've tried. I apologize for what might be abysmal mapping, but I am new to this interface.

1st button -> HOLD: trigger effect 1, set modifier M1=1.
    2nd button -> HOLD: trigger effect 2, set modifier M2=1 if M1=1
    3rd button -> HOLD: trigger effect 3, set modifier M3=1 if M1=1 & M2=1
    4th button -> HOLD: Trigger effect 4, trigger combo effect if M3=1

The problem with this method is, if I let go of any buttons earlier in the sequence, modifiers won't reset. For instance, M2 will not reset when it's released unless 1 is still held down, and retains the value of 2. This ultimately is causing my 4th button to trigger the combo everytime it is pressed if I happen to let up on button 1 or 2 before I let up on button 3, as the parameter stays at M3=1.

So basically, what I need is a means of automatically resetting the parameters after the combo effect is triggered, or when the last button is released.

If this is a terrible way of mapping this idea, I'm also open to alternatives. I've tried loading the mappings for the midi-fighter and reverse engineering it, but can't make heads or tails out of it..
    Last edited by Poizen Jam; 04-12-2011 at 05:54 PM.

Could you set a thing to set, say, M2 to 0 but put it on invert so it does it when the button is released? I can't remember if that would work or not...

I thought of that, but there doesn't seem to be an invert function to use alongside the 'Hold' interaction mode.