Traktor won't recognize my VCI100??
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard piburr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default Traktor won't recognize my VCI100??

    I've been using my vci100 with traktor 3.3 for awhile now, but all of a sudden the program doesn't recognize the controller anymore. The green light saying that the midi is working is on at the top, and my vci is lit up, but I can't control anything. I've tried different midi interfaces and it's not that.

    Has this happened to anyone? Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what I'm probably doing wrong?

    Anything would be appreciated, thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor kidfromkibbly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    441

    Default

    Check the settings of your MIDI interfaces in the preferences. Is the VCI checked with an 'x'

    This actually caught me out in my first days of having the VCI.
    17" MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz i7, 4GB RAM; Vestax VCI-100, NI Audio Kontrol 1/ MBox Mini, M-Audio Oxygen 8, Beyerdynamic DT-150 cans; Pro Tools LE 8, Ableton Live 8, Logic Studio 9, Traktor Pro

  3. #3
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    Another simple answer - have you turned off the power to your VCI and turned it back on?

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard piburr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default

    yes the vci is checked with an x. and I've tried turning it off and turning it back on and quitting traktor and opening it again but none of it seems to work.

  5. #5
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Has your TKS been cleared out for some reason?

    Also, this happened to me and I needed to replace my USB cable. The one I had was one transmitting power and not data (checked with MIDI-OX
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard piburr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default

    well I tried hitting the learn button and fiddling with some knobs and buttons but it didn't pick them up.

    my usb cable used to work, is it possible that it's stopped sending data and is now only transmitting power?

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Krilikz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Nj
    Posts
    422

    Default

    Im thinking maybe a channel issue? When you click learn is channel set to OMNI? Try a different usb port? Reload TSK files?

    trying to think of what else it could be. I know sometimes if my usb cable disconnect once im in traktor and i reconnect my vci wont work.

  8. #8
    Mr. Golden EanGolden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    970

    Default

    2 things that can cause this:

    1) you have an audio device selected that is not actually connected

    2) you connected the vci-100 after starting traktor.

    try both of those and let me know if that fixes it.

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard piburr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I have the vci selected in both the midi in and midi out. and I connected it and turned it on before I open traktor.

    I don't know what's going on.

  10. #10
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,826

    Default

    Alright. Have you tried:

    making sure Traktor is receiving the MIDI commands from your VCI-100 on Channel 1
    Changing your USB cable
    Changing the USB port it's plugged into
    Checking to see if the computer is still recognizing the device at all

    um... that's all I got... if none of that works then just call Vestax and Native Instruments.
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •