How to know what to play next.... (noob alert)
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default How to know what to play next.... (noob alert)

hi everyone....i've been playing for 4 months know and i must say i've noticed good progress, of course thanks to my excessive lurking (DJTT) and some mentors...

i can have a lot of fun while bedroom djing and discover great mixes..but that doesn't really happens when people is around since at the particular moment i cant tell what to play next to go along with the mood or actually take it up a notch...my playlist just turns into a big pile of names and numbers...lol

I use MIK to identify the keynotes and separate song in genres but I could use a further advice on how to actually overcome this.

thnx!

load up all of your music on your ipod and listen to it all the time. Get to know your tracks and you will be able to connect the dots better when your mixing them.

Quote Originally Posted by Garygary1 View Post
    load up all of your music on your ipod and listen to it all the time. Get to know your tracks and you will be able to connect the dots better when your mixing them.
    +100. Pretty much the only way to do it!

Tech Convert

thnx a lot for the advice i will get right to it.. also how do you manage your time between searching for new tracks and actually practicing?... maybe i shouldn't worry THAT much about getting new tracks and just practice practice practice? (i download tracks daily, can't say i add tracks to my collection with the same frequency though)

thnx again

PS: DJTT should definitely make a Forum app for mobile devices...that would make my day every single day. XD

Luckily I'm at uni so fucking around with beats isn't really a time issue. I listen/get music all day everyday.. Listen to your stuff a lot, and a good tip is to practice a lot with just your new tracks.