My DJing flow has changed so much since I started producing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Default My DJing flow has changed so much since I started producing

    Hey yall, I've just realized that ever since I started producing tracks and re-edits my DJing style has changed so much. Now I seem to be mostly always using three+ decks and dropping deck c at the same time I take out deck b or deck a, whether it's an acapella or another track. What I'm wondering is for all the Ableton DJs out there, would this type of DJing where I'm dealing with multiple tracks and acapellas at the same time with almost no time between be easier done with Ableton?

    Cheers, MiishMash
    Setup: Kontrol S2, Komplete Audio 6, Maschine Mikro Akai LPD 8, Akai Mpk49, Traktor 2, Ableton Suite 8.
    http://soundcloud.com/miishmash

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Cook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,622

    Default

    Cool story bro'
    DJM800 | 2xCDJ2000 | RMX1000 | Adidas HD25's
    2011 MBP | Traktor 2.6 | Kontrol S4 | Scratch Live | SL2
    Mac Pro | Ableton | Access Virus C | Maschine
    Facebook || Soundcloud || Twitter

  3. #3
    Tech Guru jprime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Comox Valley, Canada
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by misha_val View Post
    Hey yall, I've just realized that ever since I started producing tracks and re-edits my DJing style has changed so much. Now I seem to be mostly always using three+ decks and dropping deck c at the same time I take out deck b or deck a, whether it's an acapella or another track. What I'm wondering is for all the Ableton DJs out there, would this type of DJing where I'm dealing with multiple tracks and acapellas at the same time with almost no time between be easier done with Ableton?

    Cheers, MiishMash
    if you're only using 3 tracks I wouldn't worry about it. When you start using more tracks (acapella, kicks, synth loops, melodies, fx/sample sounds, high percussion loops) and start playing with them on the fly, then I'd consider Ableton.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoodless View Post
    Cool story bro'
    Setup: Kontrol S2, Komplete Audio 6, Maschine Mikro Akai LPD 8, Akai Mpk49, Traktor 2, Ableton Suite 8.
    http://soundcloud.com/miishmash

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Stick with Traktor or upgrade to TP2. Then you can use those sample decks for loops an such. I don't like Ableton for DJing but do like it for production.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,596

    Default

    naa... not for that. just gotta get used to 3-4 deck mixing.

    once you master 4 deck mixing and you want to do more than traktor is capable of, then you have a great reason to jump into ableton.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    163

    Default

    I think that once you produce a majority of your set's music then you use ableton

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor Buffalo Ill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    210

    Default

    The answer to your question is YES.

  9. #9
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    @Chris Macom, can you please reduce your signature font a little.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,596

    Default

    haters gonna hate

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •