Small Home Studio
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor silver fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    231

    Default Small Home Studio

    Hi all,

    I want to start a small home studio for producing EDM (house/hardstlye)
    and i was wondering what some essential components would be

    I have a MacBook Pro, M Audio Firewire 410, Pro Tools and Ableton (soon to be 8)

    im assuming ill need a decent MIDI keyboard, maybe some synths and VST's

    i dunno really lol

    any advice would be much appreciated

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Kaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Tron, Noiseeland
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    sweet desk, big ass speakers, amp, couch and beer fridge.

    Done!

    +obvious comp and controllers
    Last edited by Kaon; 01-21-2009 at 07:21 PM. Reason: pirates did it
    Quote Originally Posted by dripstep View Post
    Kaon, none of that has to do with drum and bass.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor silver fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    231

    Default

    haha well i got the beer covered lol
    and the couch

    but totally lagged on the desk haha

    i was thinking getting some near field truth monitors

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Kaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Tron, Noiseeland
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    me and midifidler are startin to put together a studio at the mo too. hopefully i get a few ideas of things ive missed here...
    just need a few more things, and for the space to become available

    so far, off the top of my head we got:
    2xBig Desks
    2xVCI-100
    1xmac lappy
    1xnon-mac lappy
    2xbig speakers + 1xamp
    1xfirebox
    1xmidi keyboard
    2xbig extra monitors

    then ill prolly get the novation SL25 or 49 also and hopefully midifidler get the parts for my midifighter at some stage too. arcade button awesome

    chur
    Quote Originally Posted by dripstep View Post
    Kaon, none of that has to do with drum and bass.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor silver fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    231

    Default

    sounds pretty good dude

    wat kind of software are u running?

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Kaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Tron, Noiseeland
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    ableton for production
    hopefully have traktor pro set up to run both vcis at the same time when we get the 1.2 firmware
    Quote Originally Posted by dripstep View Post
    Kaon, none of that has to do with drum and bass.

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor silver fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    231

    Default

    that would be pro

    i am getting traktor pro soon and a Xone 4D chyea
    and im thinking of getting 2 1D's as well so 1 1D for each deck
    a bit exy i know but it would be worth it lol

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Kaon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Tron, Noiseeland
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by silver fox View Post
    that would be pro

    i am getting traktor pro soon and a Xone 4D chyea
    and im thinking of getting 2 1D's as well so 1 1D for each deck
    a bit exy i know but it would be worth it lol
    lol thats pretty chur. a bit exy? as in too many exes?
    Quote Originally Posted by dripstep View Post
    Kaon, none of that has to do with drum and bass.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor silver fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    231

    Default

    haha sorry must be an aussie thing lol
    exy = expensive

  10. #10
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,356

    Default

    The bare essentials are a pc and a mouse - infact you will find yourself behind the mouse most of the time.

    A midi keyboard is really nice to have, for a studio work i wouldnt get anything less than a keyboard with 5 octaves.

    Go slow, start out with a copy of Ableton studio and learn the plugins that it comes with going out and purchasing synths and more effects. By mastering what you have as opposed to learning everything under the sun at once you will much better off.

    I wouldnt be using a traktor pro in the studio, just stick to Ableton soley.

    If have a pair of half decent speakers in the house use them to start with, but as you get more experienced you are going to want to look at monitoring speakers - theres no need to go out and buy monitors right away when your just learning the ropes.

    You dont need Pro Tools either, you can do everything you want inside of Ableton - a really good reason for doing everything in Ableton is that the skills that you learn producing will GREATLY improve what you can do inside of Ableton when performing live. Using protools and Ableton together is overkill and will only serve to distract you from learning as you will have to learn 2 sets of programs and 2 sets of plugins at once.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •