Speaker Hum, no the usual problem tho! read..
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    82

    Default Speaker Hum, no the usual problem tho! read..

    i bought a pa speaker today.
    as soon as i plug it in and turn it on (no audio plugged in yet, jut power), the speaker emits a hum, like what you would get from a long run of unbalanced cable. I assumed it was a ground loop, so i slowly unplugged 30+ items in my basement one by one to see if it would go away, but no, still the same hum. I then, using a spare power cable, ripped out the ground prong just to see if that would temporarily fix this problem...but still, i had humming. to make things worse, i take the pa upstairs and use another outlet with a good cable, and there is no hum problem. I CANT figure it out and its a loud enough hum that its drives me NUTS... as you can tell........
    The Gear: MBP15", Dre Pros, TK S4, MPK32, Ableton Live, Logic 9, and other stuff
    Check the site: http://willisdaellenbach.com, Check the cloud: http://soundcloud.com/wdaellenbach

  2. #2
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleD View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwxwUiDbRCk

    sorry. i cant help it.

    is it possible that the specific outlet you plugged it into is a problem?
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    82

    Default

    hahaha

    ive tried 2 or three different plugs, including ones on the same outlet as my s4 (source) as well as one accross the room, so im confuzed as to what it could be...
    The Gear: MBP15", Dre Pros, TK S4, MPK32, Ableton Live, Logic 9, and other stuff
    Check the site: http://willisdaellenbach.com, Check the cloud: http://soundcloud.com/wdaellenbach

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    Some outlet are badly wired, that could be one problem... also some whole basement are badly wired

    Before I dare to plug my gear in ANY outlet I always use a tester like..


    If everything's good, I do. If not I fix the problem, or try to find a better outlet.
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    82

    Default

    hmmm, very good point, ill check that out tommorow, thanks guys
    The Gear: MBP15", Dre Pros, TK S4, MPK32, Ableton Live, Logic 9, and other stuff
    Check the site: http://willisdaellenbach.com, Check the cloud: http://soundcloud.com/wdaellenbach

  6. #6
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Is it a new speaker? Did you try and connect cables and play sound through it?
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  7. #7
    Tech Guru josh@firestorm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,627

    Default

    or maybe try the speaker in a location on a different circuit in the house?

    ...or maybe put some ferrite beads on the power cable?

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor Quiggers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    197

    Default

    if you have no audio connected then the inputs are floating and will amplify mains 60Hz for
    US and 50Hz for Uk,
    Use balance cables where possible and be aware that its a PA speaker not a hifi or studio monitor, so expect the signal to noise ratio to be less than perfect, the gain involved is huge and any slight difference in a transistor pairs matching will give you noise.

    If the hum is audible over the speaker at a working volume with music playing, then you may need an isolation transformer, Art make a dual one for about $40 with a 1:1 ratio so you dont lose any level.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Providence
    Posts
    805

    Default

    @DJKeyWee What is that line tester you posted?
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2, 2X Stanton STR8-80, 2X Denon DN-S700, Akai APC40 + APC20, DDM4000, KRKRokit 8, HD25-II, iPad (Touch OSC)

  10. #10
    Tech Guru BradCee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Amazingstoke, UK
    Posts
    4,435

    Default

    try pluggin a toaster into the suspect outlet...

    Win 7 / 2x Reloop Contour / Numark M6 /Traktor Pro 2.5
    SoundCloud

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •