Ideal mixer with built-in soundcard?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default Ideal mixer with built-in soundcard?

Hey everyone,

I am a musician new to the world of DJing (about a month) and I have been practicing mixing and creating sets with Traktor Pro 1.2.6, using only my Macbook Pro and awful headphones since I have just started out...

I am about to invest in studio monitors, good headphones and of course: I need a mixer to control Traktor Pro! I would like some advice as to what mixer would be ideal for a beginner BUT not cheap, as this will be a relatively long-term investment (2-3 years). I want it to be sturdy (heard the bcd3000 was shit)

I am at a complete loss because I don't know what sound card to buy, whether I should buy a mixer with a soundcard already built-in, or what controller+soundcard combo is the best deal. Any advice would be extremely helpful.

Also, what exactly is the difference b/w scratch pro and pro? I am not going to be using cds/vinyls at the moment if that's what its about.

Scratch Pro allows you to use timecode vinyl or CDs to control your tracks. It's more expensive but doesn't really seem to be what you're after.

Personally I'd get a decent 2 channel sound card such as the audio 2 DJ and then buy any old crappy mixer you want with 3 band EQ. The benefit here is that you can upgrade your mixer without having to worry about getting a new mixer that has a sound card and would allow you to select from a much larger range of mixers. It's also more portable since you could just take the soundcard and midi controller rather than worrying carrying a big heavy mixer about with you.

I believe (maybe) ean uses a similar set up when he's not using the s4. (audio4 +club mixer + midifighters)

EDIT: Wait, do you mean a mixer or a mixer style midi controller? Personally I prefer real mixers but there are other controllers out there that might be more suitable for what you want to do.