Newbie Alert: Traktor Beatgrid, Hot Cue and Looping questions
    Tech Mentor

Default Newbie Alert: Traktor Beatgrid, Hot Cue and Looping questions

Hi guys, if i beatgrid a track once, does Traktor save that info somewhere so the track is always beat gridded when i load it again ?
    Where does traktor store this info, in case we wanna delete stuff out of memory.
    Are there any folders, cache which need to be cleaned from time to time ?
    Do the Hot Cues work the same way, that Traktor will always remember the Hot Cues when i load a track ? I dont really need this function, i am ok with manual cueing everytime as i am just starting out with traktor and wanna just be able to do the stuff i did with my CDJ's, cuing, playing looping with awesome effects!!
    Also, on a CDJ when u make a loop and exit out of it, at any point, u can hit Reloop and go back to that Loop. How does Traktor do this on the fly without storing the Loop in memory for later.

I hope i make sense.
    It will take a while for me to mentally switch from Hardware to Digital DJing, finding the transition a bit awkward at the moment.......

Thanks so much!!

DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar

1) It's stored in the ID3 tags of each file (except for WAVs and such that don't have this tag so the data gets saved locally), to remove this info you have to right click on a song > delete > adittionaly remove tags.

2) Map this function to your controller/keyboard, not everything Traktor does is accessible by clicking on the screen.

What he said. For most formats (including mp3) the beatgrid and hotcue info is stored in the track's metadata. To be sure you don't lose the grid it's a good idea to lock it (click the padlock in the advanced grid panel, or there's an option when you right click a song/songs in the collection). That stops traktor from reanalysing it for any reason and thereby resetting the beatgrid.