Bome's: outgoing messages?
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default Bome's: outgoing messages?

    Hi all,

    I've scoured the internet and can't find anything on this.
    How do I find out what to put in a midi outgoing messages to control specific things in ableton (which aren't activated with keystrokes)?

    i.e. if I want to control the first paramater of the currently highlighted effect in ableton, how would I find out what to put in the midi outgoing message of bomes?


    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default

    anyone?

  3. #3
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,814

    Default

    Anything really - a midi on/off note or cc. Then go into ableton, bring up the 8 knob 'macro' section of the device, click the blue hand, and trigger the note from Bomes.

    I haven't got teh youtube at work but you might get some help from this video or similar:

    http://www.synthtopia.com/content/20...-ableton-live/
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default

    In ableton, I'm now showing the effect and now I've selected my mpd32 as a control surface in order to get the blue hand showing.
    but I don't understand how to 'trigger the note from Bomes'?
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,814

    Default

    I mean do whatever you've set your 'incoming' message that Bome's translates to the ' 'output' message.

    What do you want Bome's to do?
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default

    The incoming message is from a knob on my controller, that part is fine.
    I want the output message to move a paramater of the highlighted effect/plugin in ableton.
    Last edited by mega_john; 05-12-2011 at 11:23 AM.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,814

    Default

    Don't need Bome's for that mate - the MPD32 is MIDI class compliant.

    Any Youtube video on 'MIDI mapping racks in Ableton Live' should get you a tutorial on it - can't check for you at the moment.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default

    aha, I think I've been going about using bomes in the wrong way.
    Thanks for your help matey!

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,423

    Default

    Bomes is a midi translator/converter. So what you could do, is map many buttons from the MPD32 to separate controls in Live, then create a translator in Bomes to combine all of those buttons into a single key press.

    CC1 > Bomes > CC1+CC2+CC3+CC4.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Rather than Bome's, I think it's a User Remote Script that I need in order to assign controls which the default mpd32's instant mapping doesn't have assigned.
    I'm still looking into it though so could be wrong, but it looks promising.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •