[ot] I need some career advise. Please help!

Default [ot] I need some career advise. Please help!

Hello dapper chaps of DJTT,

I have this dilemma that is making me waste time and need some advise or at least a direction where to move. I have a mess of career and education. The way I understood things were like this: you have to study 2 things: 1 that you like and 1 that can make you money. Of course merging the 2 was the sane thing to do but Im 30 and a bit late for repent.

I did a bachelors in Sociology. Years of punk rock with social and political lyrics and begin a positive/ideologist chap made me believe I could make the difference and change the world. Party and drugs kept me from actually checking out reality the way it is until it was time to look for a job. Soon after graduation I realize there weren't any jobs with my preparation.

Luckily, all the jobs I had during the BA were in computers and managed to build quite a resume working with some of the best IT companies locally until I realized I could manage to study computers so I did some certifications. Up to this point im saying "fuck punk rock. I should have studied information systems of computer engineer or some computer oriented stuff".

So we have a guy with a BA in sociology who has worked all his life in IT. Now the question that begs to be answered: How the hell could I merge those 2 things into something preferably on demand? Beign the author of " What is your day job? (If any)" http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12740 I have realized theres a lot of super prepared people enough to put you all in an island and make a small superpower. I once read a comment that it said something like "Damn with that preparation I would be doing lots of things!" But at the time I had a good job and not the one I have now...