Laptops in clubs
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    East Grinstead, UK
    Posts
    52

    Default Laptops in clubs

    Ok, so, Ive got the chance to DJ in a club for the first time at an end of year party Ive organised! dead happy with that! BUT

    Being a bit of a mobile DJ, whilst using my Sony Vaio, when its plugged in i get ground loop problems. DJing at parties isn't so bad as the music completely drowns it out, but would this be multiplied at a club?

    The DJ's who work in there all use Macbooks but Ive heard they don't get that problem?

    Anyone had experience with Windows Laptops in clubs?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor Ryan Leo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    477

    Default

    I'd like to hear something about this, I've had hum comming from somewhere before when I used macbook plugged with usb plugged. I would imagine that there is some sort of ground loop canceller that you can plug your laptop into before you get to the outlet.

    I could be wrong.


    I just found this video. First one I came across:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elnekf5kufU
    Last edited by Ryan Leo; 05-19-2011 at 09:55 AM.
    DJM900||CDJ800MKII(2)||PDX 2000(2)||Yamaha HS50M(2)||Yorkville YSS2||Macbook||Traktor 2


    http://soundcloud.com/ryanleomusic/

  3. #3
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    East Grinstead, UK
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Ive used one of them before but it got rid of the crackles and pops from the ground loop, but developed an loud hum making it worse!

    Some have removed the ground from the laptop connector, but I wouldn't feel safe doing that in a club!

  5. #5
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    what audio interface are you using?
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    East Grinstead, UK
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Audio 8 with Traktor Scratch set up

    Also, just watching the video, he says you need one per channel going into the mixer, but could just one be enough if going from the mixer master phono the amp? (thats for my mobile DJing, I know a club would have balanced inputs etc etc)
    Last edited by miikkeeyy92; 05-19-2011 at 12:20 PM.

  7. #7
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,436

    Default

    please used the search feat on the forums, this have been covered several times.

    thanks
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •