When mixing, where do you place your X1? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11

    Default

    I place mine on my head and turn away from the crowd while mixing with my buttcheeks and zap people with lasers from the air horns I carry.... oh wait... that was just some freaky dream.

    I should buy an x1 sometime
    /人◕‿‿◕人\
    --Its not the OS, It's the user--

  2. #12
    Tech Guru bumtsch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    What about turning it sideways and putting it in front of the mixer?
    I had to do "sideways behind a tech12" at the bar in April. Let me yell ya : it feels as awkward as it gets. Especially when you're used to two x1s regular style. Like, way worse than just switching the turntables to battle style when you've never done it.
    but hey, it's probably worth practicing like this a little bit so it doesn't feel completely alien.
    As mentioned above I think the weirdest aspect is the knobs/center detents angle when using the controller tilted like this.

  3. #13
    Tech Guru SirReal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Fran Bay Area
    Posts
    2,206

    Default

    Why not get a stand centered over the mixer, ie Crane stand or some such. The X1 doesn't weigh much so it doesn't have to be a super sturdy stand.
    "Walking the fine line between Stupidity and Genious" My Soundcloud ---- My Mixcloud
    MBP Retina 2015--TSP 2.10--2xDNSC5000--2xDNSC2900--2xDNSC2000--NI F1--Denon DN-X1700--HDJ2000--Stanton STR8-80--QSC K12's--Crown Amplifier--Urei Monitors

  4. #14
    Tech Guru VirtualLogic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    611

    Default

    if you have a bit enough shelf/ stand for your laptop then put it next to it.

  5. #15
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    337

    Default

    Quick question, with timecode and cdjs, doesn't using cue points defeat the whole point of not having a midi controller?

  6. #16
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    Nope, all personnal preferencs. Sometimes I prefer the touch of timecode, while I find them a huge waste of time on some other time.

    Sometime you can/want fit your extra controllers, sometimes not, and the list is almost endless
    Steve Zorilow: Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Twitter

  7. #17
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    337

    Default

    if youre using cue points the only thing you would use timecode for is scratching so what's the point?

  8. #18
    DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sherman, TX
    Posts
    13,939

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJWilliams View Post
    Quick question, with timecode and cdjs, doesn't using cue points defeat the whole point of not having a midi controller?
    Quote Originally Posted by DJWilliams View Post
    if youre using cue points the only thing you would use timecode for is scratching so what's the point?
    There is no cut and dry, no black and white and no right or wrong way.
    Chris Jennings FHP

    Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

  9. #19
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    64

    Default

    My setup is like this
    "CDJ""CDJ""MIXER""X1""CDJ""LAPTOP"

  10. #20
    Tech Guru djproben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,692

    Default

    Strap it to my torso washboard-style
    "Art is what you can get away with." - Marshall McLuhan

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •