Turbo Buttons!proof of concept
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor sidetrakd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    358

    Default Turbo Buttons!proof of concept

    After playing around with Eans concept of superfaders I started wondering,
    "Why not super buttons?" Hit one button and it triggers an eight note sequence in time to the midi clock!Now our midifighter has super buttons!!
    To keep with the whole video game theme of the midifighter we've named them turbo buttons
    So heres a proof of concept video!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0uvB...ature=youtu.be

    credit for the firmware goes to
    guywithknife
    We will release the firmare when its been tested and perfected!
    The Djtt Psychic Network has closed for the day. If you need help from the non-psychic members of the forum, you need to be more specific
    http://soundcloud.com/djsidetrakd
    Check out my midifighter extreme!! http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28014

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Buffalo Ill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    210

    Default

    This can be done REALLY easily with Live and Dummy Clips and IAC (midiyoke for PC) juggling...

  4. #4
    Tech Guru MiL0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Brighton / Bangkok
    Posts
    1,387

    Default

    might work better if you don't restrict it to 8 midi commands, but for as long as the arcade button is held down... would allow more control...

  5. #5
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    I agree with MiL0. But nice work nonetheless!
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor sidetrakd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Buffalo Ill View Post
    This can be done REALLY easily with Live and Dummy Clips and IAC (midiyoke for PC) juggling...
    This is true!I had thought of that but I wanted it in the midifighter firmware!

    Quote Originally Posted by MiL0 View Post
    might work better if you don't restrict it to 8 midi commands, but for as long as the arcade button is held down... would allow more control...
    We are testing out a few variations!! We're also working on different tempo's.
    The first button in the video is at 1 beat and the second one at 1/2beat
    The Djtt Psychic Network has closed for the day. If you need help from the non-psychic members of the forum, you need to be more specific
    http://soundcloud.com/djsidetrakd
    Check out my midifighter extreme!! http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28014

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor sidetrakd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MiL0 View Post
    as the arcade button is held down... would allow more control...
    One problem with this is...
    If the sequence keeps running while the button is held it makes some things hard,like traktor knowing when to stop effects or loops for example..
    In my simple mapping the first note activates the loop and the second one turns snap off.Then the last command deactivates loop and turns snap back on.The last note also resets the filter
    The Djtt Psychic Network has closed for the day. If you need help from the non-psychic members of the forum, you need to be more specific
    http://soundcloud.com/djsidetrakd
    Check out my midifighter extreme!! http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28014

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor DJTechMag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    240

    Default

    Not bad, not bad at all.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru MiL0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Brighton / Bangkok
    Posts
    1,387

    Default

    If this is a firmware update for the Midifighter then it should be possible.

    For example, if the 8 midi commands is set to run on a constant loop whilst the arcade button is held down, then once the arcade button is released, you make the midifighter perform/send whatever midi commands are necessary to bring Traktor back to it's standard state.

    Need some teensyduino experts in this thread... paging siytek and djnecro!

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor sidetrakd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MiL0 View Post
    then once the arcade button is released, you make the midifighter perform send whatever midi commands are necessary to bring Traktor back to it's standard state.
    Can't really get my head around this.Do you mean like send an extra note and map every effect/loop etc to shut off when it's triggered?Seems a possibility but involves an awful lot of mapping!
    The Djtt Psychic Network has closed for the day. If you need help from the non-psychic members of the forum, you need to be more specific
    http://soundcloud.com/djsidetrakd
    Check out my midifighter extreme!! http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28014

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •