Tricky question- got a vci 300 when i ordered a vci 100!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Tricky question- got a vci 300 when i ordered a vci 100!

Hey guys,

Last week I ordered a vci-100 black edition from a shop in england across the net. Got home from college today to find a vci-300 sitting on my table waiting for me, along with the Maya 44 sound card I ordered. Now the shop I bought from screwed me around a bit so at first I thought 'haha serves them right I got the more expensive model' and went and set everything up hurriedly.

But.... after messing around with the 300 and itch for the best part of the night I feel slightly..underwhelmed. To me Itch seems like a very basic program, almost a shell of something more advanced like T Pro. I have been using traktor on my mates xponent for a few months now and have grown so used to its features etc. Seeing videos like the one Ean did today is really inspiring and I want to follow that kind of creative direction.

I know I've only spent one day at it, but Itch doesn't seem like it can fulfill my needs. The lack of effects along with the bland style and strange waveform view is quite disappointing to be honest. I think it just looks sub-par really.

I have read over the Vci-300 T Pro thread in the mappings section and although there is great work being done, there just doesn't seem to be enough buttons/knobs on the unit for what I hope to do. And having to translate faders/jogs seems a bit of a chore!

So i guess my question is, what should I do? I'm entitled to return the 300 and get a 100, which i feel is the right thing to do but I'm a little wary of what the future holds. I'm hoping you guys can give me some idea on where things are heading in the future in terms of 14 bit resolution etc.

I don't want to be left behind by buying an older model but the 300 just don't suit my style of mixing! To me Itch suits old skool mixing of hip hop, that kind of thing. I want to push the boundaries a bit! What to do eh?!