how to connect subwoofer to pa set up??
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Default how to connect subwoofer to pa set up??

    how do you connect 1 active sub--> http://www.crispdeals.com/MARATHON_8...ma-rms18sw.htm

    to 2 active speakers???--> http://www.crispdeals.com/MARATHON_M...r_p/ma-12p.htm


    Using Tracktor S4.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Boston/Worcester
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    You can use a set of 1/4" TRS male to xlr male cables to go from the s4 to sub, then a set of xlr male to xlr female cables to go from the sub to the speakers from what i can see. The pic is crappy and im not trying to read anything right now haha

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Chubbz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brunei Darussalam
    Posts
    120

    Default

    hiya

    didnt check your link for details of connection for your brand of speakers but check out this vid for guideline...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJyXAi22DT4http://

  4. #4
    Tech Guru Flash101uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    655

    Default

    Use an XLR cable from the through connection of one of the active speakers into the active sub.

    Done.
    Ecler NUO 3.0, 2 1210mk2, midi fighter, Kontrol X1, Akai LPD8, Reloop RHP10's, TSP, Audio 8

    Howitzer on Soundcloud | Howitzer on Twitter | Howitzer on Facebook | Howitzer dnb blog

  5. #5
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    What they said. The sub has input and output connections and a built in crossover so it plays the bass and allows everything else through.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Flash101uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    655

    Default

    Just to be clear, dont plug straight into the sub, plug into your tops first.
    The sub will have an active crossover that you should configure properly but that could also be pre-through. What I mean by that is you'll only get sub 60hz coming through your tops and sub. Not cool.
    Ecler NUO 3.0, 2 1210mk2, midi fighter, Kontrol X1, Akai LPD8, Reloop RHP10's, TSP, Audio 8

    Howitzer on Soundcloud | Howitzer on Twitter | Howitzer on Facebook | Howitzer dnb blog

  7. #7
    Tech Guru mostapha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    4,748

    Default

    Or you could get a speaker controller for the long run. Cheap-ish ones run for a hundred or so, good ones are a few hundred and allow you to do things like use a connected Mic to help shoot the room and tune your PA system to the acoustics of the space…or to add delays to speakers if you're in a big enough space that you want to run another set of speakers farther away from the front without getting weird phasing issues between them.

    But, yeah…if the speakers have a "thru" connection, that works fine too. Just make sure the sub sums to mono so you don't get stereo phasing issues in your bass.

    Also, don't hi-pass your tops…at all. The sub should be low-pass'd, but the tops need a full-range signal for dance music to sound right. If you high-pass the tops, you wind up with a mid-low drop in volume that doesn't sit well and add noise at the top end.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •