Beginner advice
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beginner advice

Tech Student

Default Beginner advice

Hi. My name is David, I'm new around these parts. Thanks for having me.

I'm also new to digital dj-ing, and I'm looking for some help. This is my background. I used to have a vinyl setup about 10 years ago and felt very comfortable on the tables. I played out a bit, and wasn't bad, but I never took it too serious and never learned anything other than simple A=>B mixing. Eventually I needed the money and so I sold my whole setup about 7 years ago.

Lately I've started missing it more and more and now I want to become a better DJ than I ever was. At first I wasn't very interested in the digital option at all, but the rig I picked up came with Torq Connectiv. Now it's dawned on me how much it will cost and how long it will take to build up a vinyl collection, so I'm starting to explore the possibilities that are available to me through Torq.

For now I have 2 MKIIs, a cheap, 2 channel Vestax mixer (no effects, high/low EQ and a fader), Torq 1.5 with the Connectiv box, an HP laptop with a 2.00 GHz processor, Windows 7 professional 32-bit and 3.00 GB RAM, a Mackie SRM150, and some cheapy headphones. So far all I've figured out with the Torq software is how to load up a song and control it with the turntable. I'm basically using it as though it were a crate of vinyl. Today I am going to sit down in front of my setup with the user manual and learn as much as I can about the program. My goal is to learn everything I can about Torq and decide where I want to go from there (As far as moving to a more expensive, newer program, or adding MIDI controllers, or some other really cool stuff I probably dont even know about) So this is where I need some help.