Grrrrrrr... HID to MIDI frustration
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54
  1. #1

    Default Grrrrrrr... HID to MIDI frustration

    Ok I've been trying really really hard to try and not post something which is clearly a fairly common topic, but I really just can't find anything.

    Truthfully, the underlying thing I've been trying to do is use a second QWERTY keyboard with Traktor Pro/ Traktor Pro 2. So what I've been trying to do is find an easy way to convert the HID signals to MIDI, so that way the keyboard commands between my laptops built in keyboard and the external keyboard. I also need keys that have the same command, like the shift keys, to send different signals, but actually if that cant happen thats ok.

    Anyway I've tried a whole slue of programs, and none of them seem to work properly. Mjoy, joy to key, fergo, bomes, mousekeyboard200, etc. I have a plain old Logitech external keyboard, something I plan on ripping apart later and modding, and I run Windows 7 64-bit on a Dell XPS 17, and like I said I'm looking to convert the signals, or a similar alternative, to use for Traktor Pro / 2.

    I'm sort of thinking this just isn't a possibility at this time, but thanks in advance for anyone who helps!

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor derschaich's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    412

    Default

    praise GlovePIE (free download) over an over again!

  3. #3

    Default

    Ya I remember reading about this on the forums, I guess I forgot to try it whoops. Thanks a bunch for the reminder haha. I'll report back once I try it and see how it goes. For now, off to a party.

    Oh god this is going to a be confusing isn't it? Considering I've never done scripting that is...
    Last edited by chaomocha; 07-04-2011 at 10:38 PM.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chaomocha View Post
    Ya I remember reading about this on the forums, I guess I forgot to try it whoops. Thanks a bunch for the reminder haha. I'll report back once I try it and see how it goes. For now, off to a party.

    Oh god this is going to a be confusing isn't it? Considering I've never done scripting that is...
    i had a similar issue with wanting to use a usb touchpad as an X/Y type pad input. i wrote a glovepie script that swallows the mouse input so now only my laptops touchpad actually moves the cursor around and then wrote code to output midi from the usb touchpad.

    glovepie is very cool - and the scripting is relatively simple.
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  5. #5

    Default

    So there's a way to swallow one keyboard and keep another keyboard an actual keyboard? because that's exactly what I'm looking for. I guess my next question is how do I script GlovePIE? Any tips or links or anything on how to do it, because I've never really scripted anything before really.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    25

    Default

    If I recall correctly: Glovepie is able to convert keystrokes into midi, but it cannot swallow the keystrokes from a particular keyboard when multiple keyboards are connected.

    So if keyboard1 is your regular keyboard & keyboard2 is your midi controller-to-be, then:
    • midi.channel1.asharp0 = Keyboard2.W
    Will only make keyboard2 output a midi note when pressing the 'W' key. However (and this is why I ended up using gamepads instead) keyboard2 will still output a W keystroke...

    Quote Originally Posted by chaomocha View Post
    I guess my next question is how do I script GlovePIE? Any tips or links or anything on how to do it, because I've never really scripted anything before really.
    This thread is where I started out:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...?t=8868&page=2

    Once you've got midi-yoke installed, the glovepie scripting is really simple. For example, to make the 'W' key output a midi note, this is all the code you'd need:

    midi.DeviceOut = 2
    midi.channel1.asharp0 = Keyboard2.W
    Last edited by scyn; 07-11-2011 at 02:45 PM.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scyn View Post
    If I recall correctly: Glovepie is able to convert keystrokes into midi, but it cannot swallow the keystrokes from a particular keyboard when multiple keyboards are connected.

    So if keyboard1 is your regular keyboard & keyboard2 is your midi controller-to-be, then:
    • midi.channel1.asharp0 = Keyboard2.W
    Will only make keyboard2 output a midi note when pressing the 'W' key. However (and this is why I ended up using gamepads instead) keyboard2 will still output a W keystroke...


    This thread is where I started out:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/sho...?t=8868&page=2

    Once you've got midi-yoke installed, the glovepie scripting is really simple. For example, to make the 'W' key output a midi note, this is all the code you'd need:

    midi.DeviceOut = 2
    midi.channel1.asharp0 = Keyboard2.W
    Wow thank you for all this advice, this is gunna help alot. Maybe you could answer my next question now though too, and I'm just thinking of it now that you mentioned I can't swallow the keystrokes completely. Can I convert both keyboards to midi instead, and have say for example the W key on one keyboard set to send a different midi signal than the other? Or will it not be able to differentiate between the two still? Maybe my question doesn't make sense, I don't really know what I'm doing as far as these new programs go lol.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scyn View Post
    If I recall correctly: Glovepie is able to convert keystrokes into midi, but it cannot swallow the keystrokes from a particular keyboard when multiple keyboards are connected.
    not tried multiple keyboards but this bit of code works for swallowing mouse input so my main one is used as a mouse and i use the external one for midi:

    Code:
    mouse.Swallow = true
    fakemouse.DirectInputX = mouse1.DirectInputX
    fakemouse.DirectInputY = mouse1.DirectInputY
    mouse.LeftButton = mouse1.LeftButton
    mouse.RightButton = mouse1.RightButton
    mouse.MiddleButton = mouse1.MiddleButton
    mouse.XButton1 = mouse1.XButton1
    mouse.XButton2 = mouse1.XButton2
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  9. #9
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    yep - also works for keyboards with this...

    Code:
    keyboard.swallow=true
    then u ofc need to add the code to make the main keyboard still work as a keyboard:
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  10. #10
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chaomocha View Post
    ...I can't swallow the keystrokes completely. Can I convert both keyboards to midi instead, and have say for example the W key on one keyboard set to send a different midi signal than the other? Or will it not be able to differentiate between the two still? Maybe my question doesn't make sense, I don't really know what I'm doing as far as these new programs go lol.
    yep u should be able to make the main kw work as a kw and the external one for midi.

    and yep to the next question - you should be able to make both keyboards send out different midi data if you swallow them both.

    not a big deal as when u click to stop glovepie then they'll both work as usual kb's again anyway.... tho keeping the main one (assuming glovepie can route that back to being a normal keyboard but i'm almost certain it would be able to) as a normal kb probably makes the most sense.
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •