Learning to Beatmatch with Traktor Pro 2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1

    Default Learning to Beatmatch with Traktor Pro 2

    Hey,

    I have been using ableton live with a Korg Zero 4 + other midi controllers for a few years. I have used my roomates serato to learn to beatmatch, but no longer live with him.

    I got traktor because I do not want another soundcard because the Korg Zero 4 has one with Midi and a mixer.

    I want to learn to beatmatch perfectly, but only have my keyboard to use. I am trying to use the nudge on the keyboard to learn to beatmatch. I find it does not work quite as easily as with Serato. But with Traktor showing the BPM and with the sync button, everything always works out in the end no matter how my manual beatmatching is going.

    Will I really be able to beatmatch well using Traktor without an external control for the timecoding? Are there any recommendations on things to do, try? Maybe turn off BPM on my view? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Definitely turn off BPM. If you have the visual feedback there even if you try not to look, your eyes will always sneak a peek.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor EchePalante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Miami
    Posts
    235

    Default

    start using the jog wheel adjustment manually. and yes turn off BPM. also use the pitch changer.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Topps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Turn off the Phase Meter, BPM and the Grid Markers and you'll be fine.

  5. #5
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Buy something with a decent jog wheel and pitch fader. Anything else is possible but just not worth doing tbh.
    The xwax Thread! - The minimal open source DVS for Linux!
    Reddit's /r/DJs! - Another great DJ community!

  6. #6
    Tech Guru keeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    613

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPopinjay View Post
    Buy something with a decent jog wheel and pitch fader. Anything else is possible but just not worth doing tbh.
    +1

  7. #7
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    agreed. after forking out for the TP2 software you might as well buy a midi controller with jogs. my first experiments with digital dj'ing were with an old+cheap hercules mk2 (that i still have and still use) with mixxx and then traktor. quite easy to beat match manually with it - esp as it has a built in soundcard with 2 stereo outs so u can use one for cueing in headphones... probably lots of better and maybe even cheaper options around now tho.
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor Michielygil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dordrecht, The Netherlands
    Posts
    455

    Default

    Indeed, turn off the phase meter might be the most important one of all. Goddamn it's such an automatism to look at that shiny blinking unit.
    2x A. Audio HTD 4.5 | Sony MDR 7506 | Xone:4D | Sony Vaio E i7 | 2x KRK 8 | Traktor Scratch Pro 2 | Launchpad | NI Maschine | NI Komplete 8 | Ableton Live 9

  9. #9

    Default

    Thanks for the recommendations guys. Forgot to check in and say thanks for the recommendations, I appreciate it.

    Got 2 belt driven turntables for very very dirt cheap and been trying on them but also want to use traktor because I only have a few records.

    Appreciate the help.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor Ryan Leo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    477

    Default

    Turn off the meters and try.

    Looking at the meters and trying to match by ear is really hard to do I think.

    To have 2 songs in sync they don't need to be accurate to 0.00 to have the tracks locked in.

    Small adjustments periodically can keep things in line, but definitely not to 0.00.
    DJM900||CDJ800MKII(2)||PDX 2000(2)||Yamaha HS50M(2)||Yorkville YSS2||Macbook||Traktor 2


    http://soundcloud.com/ryanleomusic/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •