CDJ's + S4?
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CDJ's + S4?

  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    135

    Default CDJ's + S4?

    Is it true? Can it be done?


    I have a buddy who use CD's and i use traktor with my S4.
    Can we hook them up so he uses CD and i use S4 togehter?

  2. #2
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    Sure, as long as you get the timecode upgrade

  3. #3
    Tech Guru IznremiX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Regina, Canada
    Posts
    652

    Default

    or you could put decks c/d as live inputs, and plug his cdjs into those. you could also use the cdjs as midi controllers (but that would sort of destroy the purpose of having em )
    Maschine Routine with live musicians
    http://youtu.be/ubEQZSvocto
    fb: http://www.facebook.com/djizn

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default

    If you have the S4 scratch upgrade, you can use timecode CDs to control decks 3 & 4. You could also use the buttons to send midi, but that's only available on certain decks. Or you could hook the CD deck outputs to the inputs on the S4's sound card, set two decks in Traktor to audio and mix them in there, but I've always experienced alot of latency when trying to route audio into traktor via sound card.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Is the best way to get a 3 or 4 chanel mixer and plug my S4 in to it? Like a DJM800?

  6. #6
    Tech Guru guiltyblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,282

    Default

    Traktor is a 4 channel mixer, you can make decks C & D live inputs for CDJs. Only downside is you have to have traktor on for the mixer to work. Therefore no live output of your CDJs through the S4 without traktor being on. But its pretty simple, I did it before, just get timecode update for the S4 and control disc for the cdjs and you can control 4 decks. No needs for a DJM unless you want an analog mixer.

    I did the S4 and cdjs for a while, but disliked having to have my comp hooked up all the time so went with a DJM CDJ combo, and never looked back.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •