The sunday night crowd . . . .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default The sunday night crowd . . . .

So I've bagged myself a spot on an open deck night on a sunday in my town. I don't usually head out on a sunday night seeing as I gotta work on monday and its been a long time since I was a student, so ive lost touch with this night out on the town completely.

The bar ill be spinning at usually plays house / rnb / top40 / electro stuff on the busy weekend nights. Ive already told the promoter that this isnt really my bag and i'd love to play some smooth liquid dnb and chilled out dubstep, but I could whip up an electro house set no problem, if necessary.

Im still unsure what time of the night i'll be spinning, but hopefully earlier on as no-one should care too much about the music, I could probably play some more mellow stuff and get away with it.

So my question is: Do you have any experience with the sunday night crowd? What would you think works well for the peeps? Do people come out to party or chill on a sunday? I'm clueless :/

If it was me, I'd go out to chill maybe, nothing heavy. Its also worth noting that all the students have gone home for the summer, so theres a LOT less people about and theyre mainly 9-5 workers.
    Ecler NUO 3.0, 2 1210mk2, midi fighter, Kontrol X1, Akai LPD8, Reloop RHP10's, TSP, Audio 8

Howitzer on Soundcloud | Howitzer on Twitter | Howitzer on Facebook | Howitzer dnb blog

People generally have headaches and fear of Monday.

I used to play soul/funk/beats/hiphop/funky breaks/nu disco/reggae/dub at my Sunday gig - it was called 'Slack Sabbath'. Anthing chilled, laid back or uplifting. I'd even occassionally play a bit of liquid d&b.

The idea was that people could forget about the week ahead and get snuggled up in a nice warm booze'n'vibes blanket.
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Quote Originally Posted by lethal_pizzle View Post