Does my laptop meet the min. requirements for TP2?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Default Does my laptop meet the min. requirements for TP2?

    Looking on the NI website, I see this:

    Windows® XP (latest Service Pack, 32 Bit), Windows Vista®/Windows® 7 (latest Service Pack, 32/64 Bit),
    Intel® Pentium 4® 2.4 GHz or Intel® Core™ Duo or AMD Athlon™ 64, 2 GB RAM

    But I'm a bit confused. Are they saying it's only compatible with a Pentium 4, Intel Core Duo or AMD Athlon?

    If that's the case, then there's a lot of processors that aren't compatible. Doesn't it usually say something like "Pentium 4 or higher"?

    My laptop:
    Windows 7 home premium
    SP1
    64-bit operating system
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz 4.00GB of RAM

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard chubakkaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I doubt it, it just seems poorly specified. Shoot them a message maybe?

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Garygary1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    *facepalm*
    Dude, your laptop will run it fine as long as you keep crapware off of it.
    P4 2.4 ghz (single core) is meant to be the absolute worst processor for it to run on.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Grifff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    249

    Default

    No, I would say that that is the minimum processor that you could get away with using. On the serato website it says something about an intel pentium processor being he minimum requirement to run itch but it worked fine on my old laptopt which had an AMD Turion something or other dual core
    | Pioneer CDJ 800 | Korg KM202 | Citronic MPCD-S3 |

    Soundcloud|Twitter|Mixcloud

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Garygary1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    975

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grifff View Post
    No, I would say that that is the minimum processor that you could get away with using. On the serato website it says something about an intel pentium processor being he minimum requirement to run itch but it worked fine on my old laptopt which had an AMD Turion something or other dual core
    a 2.0 ghz pentium DUAL CORE is more than enough

  6. #6
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tokenasianguy View Post
    My laptop:
    Windows 7 home premium
    SP1
    64-bit operating system
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz 4.00GB of RAM
    Will be fine if you make sure not to run the latency too low.

    Quote Originally Posted by Garygary1 View Post
    your laptop will run it fine as long as you keep crapware off of it.
    agreed

    Quote Originally Posted by Garygary1 View Post
    a 2.0 ghz pentium DUAL CORE is more than enough
    Traktor doesn't utilise multiple cores yet. You could have an 8 core production beast but it'd still only use one of them.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

  7. #7
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fullenglishpint View Post
    Traktor doesn't utilise multiple cores yet.
    Is this fucking true? D:
    The xwax Thread! - The minimal open source DVS for Linux!
    Reddit's /r/DJs! - Another great DJ community!

  8. #8
    DJTT Tankard fullenglishpint's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    7,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPopinjay View Post
    Is this fucking true? D:
    yurp. It was in Traktor on the record a little while back.
    TSP 2 | Serato DJ | Live 8 | MBP (SSD + HDD) | AIAIA TMA-1 Fool's Gold Edition | 1200 Mk2s | MidiFighter | KRK RP5
    Xone: DB4 | Pioneer CDJ-2000 Nexus
    DJTT FAQ | Read my guide to AUDIO CABLES

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •