mutiple sound cards in ableton live
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor fbonito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    lisbon
    Posts
    220

    Default mutiple sound cards in ableton live

    in my project sifo i've included a exterior sound car for line in and line out.

    since i don't have a fancy sound card, i got a crappy usb type pen just enough to get something in and out



    now to problem "how to connect two sound cards", the internal and this pen type crap

    i use the asio4all driver that allows to connect multiple sound cards and you can assign what you want each one "ear", unfortunately i didn't found a way to send the same thing trough 2 outputs...

    digging in ableton live i've found that you can set one output in master for two channels 1/2 (left and right) and you can assign individual tracks to another two channels 3/4 (left and right - the external sound card) but again, it doesn't allow to send the master to 1/2 and 3/4 at the same time.

    so i've created a audio track and in the input routed to the master and the output to the 3/4, so the master will go to 1/2 and the audio track will go to 3/4, just as simple as that.

    since we are talking about crappy material, there is a slightly latency between the two outputs but is nothing big...

    does anyone have a better way to have the same thing going out to 2 sound cards? help appreciated...

    thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    A better way would be to get a multi-output soundcard with ASIO drivers and cut down the trouble of having to deal with multiple soundcards...
    The Phat One

  3. #3
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,145

    Default

    ableton should deal with the multiples on its own ok
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2.7, MBP 13", iPad 2 & TouchOSC, Reloop NEON, Pioneer DJM750mk2, Mackie d.2, Pioneer CDJ800 x2, Technics SL1210MK2 x2, NI Audio 6 DJ, Dicers,

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor fbonito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    lisbon
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djchriswoods.co.uk View Post
    ableton should deal with the multiples on its own ok
    how?

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor fbonito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    lisbon
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Phatso View Post
    A better way would be to get a multi-output soundcard with ASIO drivers and cut down the trouble of having to deal with multiple soundcards...
    yes that's the idea... but in the meanwhile ...

  6. #6
    Tech Guru DigitalDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    799

    Default

    AFAIK what you're trying to do isn't possible in ableton itself... I tried for a while and the only workaround I managed was routing the same input signal to two channels in ableton, having those two output externally to something with multiple channels like Soundflower, and having that route to multiple soundcards.

  7. #7

    Default

    asio4all
    /人◕‿‿◕人\
    --Its not the OS, It's the user--

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor fbonito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    lisbon
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MuzicFreq View Post
    asio4all
    and how do i send the same thing trough two outputs (sound cards)?

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor fbonito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    lisbon
    Posts
    220

    Default

    anyone?

  10. #10
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    On mac you can just join the cards together in the audio / midi settings

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •