geek out thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: geek out thread

  1. #1
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default geek out thread

    heres a place where you can brag about the dumb geek shit that excites you or pisses you off




    so i normally use the canary build of chrome, i discovered about:flags that includes some settings

    so im like... hmmm i like these 'profiles' lets turn them on on the other builds i have

    1. canary
    2. dev
    3. portable (on my flash drive)

    some of these settings differ from version to version, but on the dev build i can remove the url bar

    FUCK YES!

    so i switched to dev.

    and that was my night
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    burlington, vt
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Today I learned how to process LiDAR imagery at work. I was pretty excited when exploring the point cloud, which looks like this:

    i always roam through the forest, just like a brontosaurus.

  3. #3
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    i removed the url bar thing because i couldnt do:

    ctrl t
    fa
    enter

    and other quick key successions because everytime i open a new tab i have to select the url bar (ctrl L) and every time i get to a page i have to de select it by clicking on the page

    rendering my keyboard wizardry useless, like a veyron on a speed bump.

    also it made vimium hard as fuck to use.
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    343

    Default

    hm when I hit ctrl-t on chrome the url bar is selected by default, so hitting ctrl-t - dj - enter will get my here quickly
    Xone 42, X1, Audio 8, Maschine mikro

  5. #5
    Tech Guru JonathanBlake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    2,606

    Default

    Another thread I can ignore - I have NO idea what you guys are talking about!

    356 reasons why

  6. #6
    Tech Guru sarasin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    4,925

    Default

    Kinda geeky ......

    My job makes me feel good man....like....SMART!

    I work and assist IT Admins all day with their Cloud Based needs and Email Security.

    They are seriously dumb....the majority of these admins!

    Makes me feel REAL clever......geeky almost....but not quite.

    APC80:STR8-100's+Ortofon Concorde Scratch\Electro:ButterRugz:TSP2-NI Audio4DJ:Xone22+Innofader:MacBook Pro 15"
    www.soundcloud.com/djsarasin
    www.youtube.com/adriansarasin

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor Grifff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    249

    Default

    This is retarded but the main thing that stops me from using chrome is the way you have to type the first letter of the url otherwise it wont come up.

    In firefox I press ctrl + l, then type in 'tech' and it brings me straight to this website. It's more of an effort to type dj. Which probably makes me sound like the laziest person ever.


    Also, have any of you seen this yet?

    'Unlimited Detail' Graphics Tech Surfaces Again With Tantalizing New Demo

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00gAb...layer_embedded
    | Pioneer CDJ 800 | Korg KM202 | Citronic MPCD-S3 |

    Soundcloud|Twitter|Mixcloud

  8. #8
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ashigari View Post
    hm when I hit ctrl-t on chrome the url bar is selected by default, so hitting ctrl-t - dj - enter will get my here quickly
    my issue was with turning off the url bar and then it wouldnt auto select the bar in new tabs


    Quote Originally Posted by Grifff View Post
    This is retarded but the main thing that stops me from using chrome is the way you have to type the first letter of the url otherwise it wont come up.

    In firefox I press ctrl + l, then type in 'tech' and it brings me straight to this website. It's more of an effort to type dj. Which probably makes me sound like the laziest person ever.
    d enter is 2 key strokes, tech is 4

    any way, you could turn on instant that loads web pages as you type them

    so i could type 'you' to start going to youtube but when i enter that P im going else where *cough*

    im joking, it only does it with sites in your auto fill list for that exact reason.

    BUT i dont like instant as much as i wish i did because the delay between me typing you and waiting for the page to actually start loading is a billion times slower than hitting y enter
    Last edited by theory28; 08-05-2011 at 08:24 AM.
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    Does anyone else thing it's a little redundant having a geek thread on this forum? ;P
    The xwax Thread! - The minimal open source DVS for Linux!
    Reddit's /r/DJs! - Another great DJ community!

  10. #10
    Banhammerized theory28's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    i just remembered

    alt
    space bar
    N

    will minimize a window. i cant imagine why you would need to minimize quickly... maybe youre on djtt at work or something.
    Become a Fan, And View My Latest Mixes | DJTT Chatroom (FB)
    Quote Originally Posted by photojojo View Post
    If the pack of lions are in sync then they're not real lions so it doesn't count.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •