New hardware on the night
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New hardware on the night

So i have been asked to DJ at my girlfriends formal (prom / homecoming / whatever you want to call it)

They want me to do an hour set - But they said that they didnt want me to use my own stuff, and i can just bring a usb and plug it into the resident DJ's laptop and use his Pioneer DDJ-S1.

I have never used a high level midi controller before, never lone using itch. I use my VestaxTyphoon + Korg Nanopad + TP2.

I was wondering, will it be a near vertical learning curve?

Thanks
    “Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant." Mitchell Kapor
    Setup: TP2 - Vestax Typhoon - Korg NanoPad - Windows 7 x64 - Sony Vaio (Deceased) - Acer Aspire Timeline.
    House Parties - 2x12" Titan Audio PA's, 1xBehringer B1500D Sub

You can also keep the mixing on the basic, simple levels... No effects or juggling, just keeping a solid mix. The functions you need for that are pretty much universal on every controller IMO.
    HP Envy 14 Beats Edition, Traktor Pro 2, NI Kontrol S4, NI Kontrol X1, NI Kontrol F1, AIAIA TMA-1

Tech Mentor

Ask to talk to the DJ with the Pioneer controller in advance.

There's no way I'd let a stranger turn up, plug in a USB stick & do a set on my gear. ....unless I knew & trusted them & had inspected the contents of their USB stick first.

Also. If it turns out the DJ's perfectly happy to do this. You may be able to meet up & have a practice on his gear in advance. If it definitely is happening, go to serato.com, download itch, & get all your music analysed & cue's / loops organised before the gig.
    Cheers

IAN WILLIAMS

Quote Originally Posted by thisisian View Post
    Ask to talk to the DJ with the Pioneer controller in advance.

There's no way I'd let a stranger turn up, plug in a USB stick & do a set on my gear. ....unless I knew & trusted them & had inspected the contents of their USB stick first.