Help with my first Traktor Scratch Pro dvs set up?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Default Help with my first Traktor Scratch Pro dvs set up?

    Hey everyone! I've got a few (maybe several) questions about my first Traktor Scratch Pro system.

    Right now I'm looking at getting either a pair of Numark TT-200s, maybe TT-500s (if all goes well with ebay), Audio Technica AT-Lp120s, or something in that price range.

    I'm also looking at a DDM4000 mixer. I know it's definitely not the best, but for now this system will just be in my home setup.
    I don't really know if I need only Scratch Duo or Pro, so if anyone can help there that'd be great, (leaning for Pro just for the fact that I won't have to upgrade in the future)

    I also have 2 Mackie Mr8Mk2's and will be looking to add a Powered Monitoring Subwoofer (Probably JBL or Mackie)

    TL;DR Here's the equipment checklist
    2 x TT's
    DDM400
    Mackie MR8mk2's
    Audio 6 or Audio 10 DJ

    So my only concern right now is what changes should I make and how would I wire this all up? Would my monitors and subwoofer plug into the Mixer or the Audio DJ interface? Will I be able to cue headphones out of the mixer or does it ALSO plug into the Audio DJ? I would really like to have only the Mixer and TT's run into the Audio DJ and the rest hooked up to the mixer in question.

    Would I have enough inputs/outputs to get this all running? Also, if anyone can suggest a better mixer in that price range, I'd be very happy! Can I use the 2 TT's to control 4 different decks?

    Sorry, I know that's a lot of questions so hopefully you guys can nail the coffin shut on some of these!

    Big up DJTT!

  2. #2
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    just plug the ins & outs from the mixer in to the audio interface of choice.

    and connect the master out on the mixer to the speakers.

    and your good to go.

  3. #3

    Default

    So the mixer CAN still handle audio? This was a big question I had and have been trying to ascertain for a while!

  4. #4
    Tech Guru DigitalDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    799

    Default

    The soundcard just separates the decks to different channels so the setup would be - Laptop -> Audio Interface -> Mixer -> Output (headphones and sub -> speakers)

    I believe that you can use 2 TTs (or even 1) to control 4 decks with deck focus, but I'm not 100% sure on that. Personally I'm not a fan of full on 4 deck layering with DVS (keeping 4 tracks in time is arduous and if you're going to sync you might as well just use a controller) and would recommend that you get a decent 2 channel mixer over the DDM (there's a reason that mixers with a comparable feature set cost several times more). But, if that's what's you really want to do, then go nuts.

    The monitors are good and I can't comment on the TTs as I've never used (or even looked at) anything but 1200s.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DigitalDevil View Post
    The soundcard just separates the decks to different channels so the setup would be - Laptop -> Audio Interface -> Mixer -> Output (headphones and sub -> speakers)

    I believe that you can use 2 TTs (or even 1) to control 4 decks with deck focus, but I'm not 100% sure on that. Personally I'm not a fan of full on 4 deck layering with DVS (keeping 4 tracks in time is arduous and if you're going to sync you might as well just use a controller) and would recommend that you get a decent 2 channel mixer over the DDM (there's a reason that mixers with a comparable feature set cost several times more). But, if that's what's you really want to do, then go nuts.

    The monitors are good and I can't comment on the TTs as I've never used (or even looked at) anything but 1200s.

    Great input! As far as a mixer goes, what would you suggest in the 400-500 USD price range as far as a 2 channel goes? I am always up for getting used equipment if it scores me better quality as well. I guess 4 channel mixing would be a little bit much with TT's so I could just go with the Audio 6 setup?
    I think you're definitely right about that! I'll probably just throw a Reloop Contour or X1 in eventually for cuing and sample deck control!
    Last edited by Hstanford1; 08-21-2011 at 02:47 PM.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru DigitalDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    799

    Default

    You can get a used Rane TTM-56S for under $500 on ebay if you're in the US. That'd be my top recommendation.

    You could also take a look around here and see if there are other mixers that you're more interested in.

  7. #7

    Default

    Also, I saw that the Denon DNX-600 will work as a DVS? Are there any others that will work from this product line and how is the DNX-600 quality wise?

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,596

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DigitalDevil View Post
    You can get a used Rane TTM-56S for under $500 on ebay if you're in the US. That'd be my top recommendation.

    You could also take a look around here and see if there are other mixers that you're more interested in.
    Under $500 - DAMN! anyone want to ship me one of these in the UK?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hstanford1 View Post
    Also, I saw that the Denon DNX-600 will work as a DVS? Are there any others that will work from this product line and how is the DNX-600 quality wise?
    The DX-600 apparently works in a slightly hooky way (i.e. you fool the software into thinking it's a DX-1600) so it's not exactly 'legit'
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    82

    Default

    If you are looking for a decent 2 channel mixer and wanna save some cash, I can vouch for the xone:22. It's a solid mixer with a lovely filter, and if youre using traktor, I doubt you are gonna use the effects on the mixer at all.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Sherlock Ohms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    1,596

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thugbear2005 View Post
    If you are looking for a decent 2 channel mixer and wanna save some cash, I can vouch for the xone:22. It's a solid mixer with a lovely filter, and if youre using traktor, I doubt you are gonna use the effects on the mixer at all.
    Has this got a better crossfader than the Xone:42?

    One of the bars I regularly play has a 42, and the crossfader is utterly shite if you want to scratch, it just isn't adjustable at all ...
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2/Serato SL1/Ecler NUO 3.0/VCI 100 SE/2 x Technics 1210 Mk2/Sennheiser HD25 II/Novation Dicers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •