Good DJ software?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    NY, Strong Island
    Posts
    6

    Default Good DJ software?

    I use the free edition of Virtual DJ which shuts off my external equipment after 10 minutes. this is really annoying. does anyone know any good free DJ software that they can recommend? lol and if there are no good free ones, just name whatever you think is good

    hahahah thanks

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    233

    Default

    Serato Itch 2.0 and Traktor Pro 2

    Quote Originally Posted by JonathanBlake View Post
    When I hit Sync I get a double espresso from Midi Out.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,668

    Default

    Mixxx <<<Free, reliable, but pretty basic FX, although handles Itunes and DVS and many many midicontrollers are premapped nicely.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    Mixxx <<<Free, reliable, but pretty basic FX, although handles Itunes and DVS and many many midicontrollers are premapped nicely.
    and the soon to be released 1.10 looks like it will be adding some cool features. certainly becoming quite traktor-like.
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  5. #5
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,668

    Default

    and the soon to be released 1.10 looks like it will be adding some cool features. certainly becoming quite traktor-like.
    Is that Traktor 2 or 3 you're talking about there

  6. #6
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    Is that Traktor 2 or 3 you're talking about there
    traktor pro is only up to version 2 unless u know something we don't

    the old version of traktor got up to 3 - but thats old stuff now.

    i just meant the last time i tried mixxx a few weeks back (a beta) the default theme seemed quite traktor-like and features like quantised loops+hot cues etc should be in mixxx soon. not sure if they'll make it to 1.10 or not - but mixxx is starting to look quite good.

    it also includes the xwax libs so supports dvs too.
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  7. #7
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,668

    Default

    I meant the old one ;P ... but yeah from the DVS point of view its pretty damn cool, rest of the feature set is a lil behind T3 in most areas though (FX, Transpose, Hotcues, Quantized loops, 2decks).

    Still like to keep a copy round mind you "just in case"

  8. #8
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    I meant the old one ;P ... but yeah from the DVS point of view its pretty damn cool, rest of the feature set is a lil behind T3 in most areas though (FX, Transpose, Hotcues, Quantized loops, 2decks).

    Still like to keep a copy round mind you "just in case"
    yep - its def a long way behind still - but things seem to be moving in the right direction now.

    plus mapping in mixxx is waaaaay more flexible - as u can basically just write javascript code to do whatever you want

    /pete
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  9. #9
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    6,493

    Default

    Traktor, Serato, VDJ, Deckadance, Mixx, all do the job.

    Quote Originally Posted by zestoi View Post
    the old version of traktor got up to 3 - but thats old stuff now.
    It's not old, just vintage .

  10. #10
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by padi_04 View Post
    Traktor, Serato, VDJ, Deckadance, Mixx, all do the job.



    It's not old, just vintage .
    true lol. in fact i only bought my copy of traktor 3 six months ago or so, so i could use it to buy an upgrade for cheaper than buying a new version outright... (if u don't include cool offers like the current X1 one)
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •