Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Jog Wheel Fx

  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default Jog Wheel Fx

    i have a question i have a bcd 3000 cuz well i live in Pakistan n being a dj here well let's just say i cant buy the gud stuff i just saw u'r vid in youtube on breaking the silence. I was wondering your gonna have a vid on how to map the fx on da jog wheel????

  2. #2
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    i don't think the bcd3000 has touch sensitive jogs so won't send out a midi message as soon as you touch them only when u move them.

    eans video on the blog explains basically what he did so you should be able to use that info to recreate most of it on your controller...

    a jog wheel is only really an encoder and he has multiple effects mapped to the same jog - altering the params in relative mode (which is also what a jog/encoder sends out anyway) so you get some cool/random combinations of effects...
    13" mbp / mixxx / tp2 / live5 / 2x scs.3d / 2x launchpad / 4x cdj101 / djm101
    midifighter / lpd8 / nano(kontrol|key) / icon (idj|ikey) / herc mk2
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  3. #3
    DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    5,569

    Default

    You can port the mixtrack map someone posted here but, like zestoi said, you are going to have to hold a button down to activate it.

  4. #4
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I did try 2 map the fx's on da jog wheel and also try to map the scrach on w/ da wheel cuz i tried to copy wat Ean did but still no go

  5. #5
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    well if u can explain what u have tried and what u can't get working then we can probably be more helpful... probably a good project to learn about mapping in traktor anyway...
    13" mbp / mixxx / tp2 / live5 / 2x scs.3d / 2x launchpad / 4x cdj101 / djm101
    midifighter / lpd8 / nano(kontrol|key) / icon (idj|ikey) / herc mk2
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default

    i mapped all 3 of the effects param, n the dry/wet to the wheel, as well as the scratch on map to the wheel. Nada, zilch, and nuthin happening bro hehe. (plz don't mind im a bit of a comic.)

  7. #7
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sal.jaffer View Post
    i mapped all 3 of the effects param, n the dry/wet to the wheel, as well as the scratch on map to the wheel. Nada, zilch, and nuthin happening bro hehe. (plz don't mind im a bit of a comic.)
    u used the midi learn so u know the right midi message was attached to the fx params in traktor?

    do u at least see the effects changing parameter in the traktor display even tho u dont hear any change? if not then sounds like u mapped the wrong control in traktor.

    also do u have the effect unit u are trying to control in "group" mode?

    there's different controls u need to map in traktor for single verses group mode effects units. u could try changing the modes of your effects units to see if thats the issue tho - i.e: see if anything changes then.

    if u see the params changing but aren't hearing it then u probably didn't map the mixer params to actually enabled the effects unit for a particular deck.

    plenty of things there to check/try anyway
    13" mbp / mixxx / tp2 / live5 / 2x scs.3d / 2x launchpad / 4x cdj101 / djm101
    midifighter / lpd8 / nano(kontrol|key) / icon (idj|ikey) / herc mk2
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Yul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Aix-en-Provence, France
    Posts
    942

    Default

    I did something when I had the Xone DX, likewise it doesnt' have a jogwheel but a big encoder.
    One control to activate the 'fx mode'
    Touching the encoder engages the fx(s)
    Pressing the first control to disengage the fx or the mode.
    Originally Posted by VOX5505 Enough that I'm not one of the "top DJs"...assuming you mean deadmau5/tiesto etc. But I'm right at the front of the tier right below them...If I wanted to, there are so many "I'm infinitely more successful with music than you'll ever be" cards I could be pulling right now...
    Originally Posted by DigitalDevil You kinda sound like you're full of shit...

  9. #9
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Zestoi

    The Fx Turns on cuz i mapped it on hold but the params stay in the middle i have 1 button dat turns on all the fx.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,793

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sal.jaffer View Post
    Zestoi

    The Fx Turns on cuz i mapped it on hold but the params stay in the middle i have 1 button dat turns on all the fx.
    u probably have the effects units in the wrong mode then - or are using the traktor mapping 'in' for the wrong type of effects unit mode. try to debug the issue with the other info i posted.
    13" mbp / mixxx / tp2 / live5 / 2x scs.3d / 2x launchpad / 4x cdj101 / djm101
    midifighter / lpd8 / nano(kontrol|key) / icon (idj|ikey) / herc mk2
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •