How do you handle tracks that plays at BPMs higher/low than 8%?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How do you handle tracks that plays at BPMs higher/low than 8%?

As I'm still learning to become THE ULTIMATE DJ, I've been wondering about how you guys mix tracks running a different BPMs? Of course you beatmatch, sync or whatever fits your style, but what do you do when you want to mix in a 100bpm track after a tracks that runs at 130bpm? In my experience, changing the tempo of a track so such just makes them sound "silly".

My current technique is to just mix in at drops, or take mix in the intro of track A into the outtro of track B. This is of course highly depended on the track. I'm also trying to just sync both tracks up; say I have track A running at 128bpm, track B runs at 135bpm, but to make the transition smoother I want sync track B to 128bpm, then slowly (or instantly) go back up to 135bpm. What are you're recommendations in this situations?

I know that there aren't any solution to fit all situations, but I would still like to have your thoughts and tips on the topic

Quote Originally Posted by decon View Post
    In my experience, changing the tempo of a track so such just makes them sound "silly".
    With high tempo modification, voices can sound like Mickey Mouse or Darth Vader, but every CD player (or at least Pionneer's CDJ) or DJ software has something to correct it.

I don't know what's you setup, i assume you got a controller, but i'll explain it for a "regular" dj too.

This option is called "Master Tempo" on my CDJs 350, and i guess it's called the same on Pionneer's other players.

On Traktor Pro 2, it's called "Key", it's the little note displayed on the right of the track's full wave form.

I don't know your mapping, but a button somewhere must be assigned to turn this on/off.

In both cases, that will allow you to change the pitch without any sound modification.