USB 2.0 Too slow?
    Tech Convert

Default USB 2.0 Too slow?

So I'm a recent guitarist -> controllerist convert and have never had to work with an external harddrive before. I want to pick one up but after doing some research I'm unsure about what to get. I've always been one to spend a little extra to get the sure thing so I was looking at getting something that utilizes Firewire instead of USB 2.0 (I'm using a new MBP 15" so no USB 3.0). I found the fancy-looking WD passport firewire edition to be appealing but there were a bunch of negative reviews about it being a CPU hog. The LaCie rugged seems like the only option but I'm trying to avoid it just because it just seems like such a hideous brick (I'm a fan of compact). If I need to I'll go with that but I was just curious as to how "slow" USB 2.0 actually is and if it truly impedes your ability to DJ well. I've seen several forums talking about it being too slow but I feel as though people just exaggerate, though I really don't know. Point being, I'd love to get a WD USB 2.0 passport or something similar if it's really not a problem (cheap and reliable apparently). But if it is an issue, LaCie rugged it is. Any insight would be greatly appreciated and my setup is in my sig, thanks in advance!
    Traktor Pro 2 + Kontrol S4 + Midi Fighter Classic + Kaossilator Pro

Macbook Pro 15in: 2.3Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM,

i run my 1.5Tb HDD external and it runs off of regular USB 2.0. its pretty hasty. if you want the fastest go with a solid state ($$$) that has a firewire jack. but ive never had a problem with my external keeping up.
    Dell 2.3 Ghz 4 Gb Laptop - Windows 7 Premium
    Numark Stealth - Kontrol X1 - Akai LPD8 - APC20 - Novation Launchpad - Numark Mixdeck
    Traktor Pro 2 - Ableton Live 8.100000000000000