APC40 Arcade
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: APC40 Arcade

  1. #1

    Default APC40 Arcade

    Just wondering.. How would I replace the buttons with arcade buttons. Just a little question because I might wanna mod a few of them for beat juggling in my traktor mapping. New enclosure is no problem.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru tyfurious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    798

    Default

    In theory it would function, but pulling it off would be difficult if you want any of the buttons to remain the same.
    Traktor/Itch: Xone Dx - MidiFighter x1
    Ableton: Livid Code - iPad - KP3
    Tech: Macbook Pro 17", intel i7, 8gb RAM, 500gb HD 7200RPM

  3. #3

    Default

    so if i would do it, easiest thing would be to make them all arcade.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru MrPopinjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,747

    Default

    The easiest thing to do would be buying anything else to mod.

    It's cramped, expensive and features an absolutely beautiful enclosure which arcade buttons wouldn't fit on so you'd have to scrap it. Ripping it apart would be a real shame since there are plenty of other bits of kit you could work with to achieve exactly the same effect.
    The xwax Thread! - The minimal open source DVS for Linux!
    Reddit's /r/DJs! - Another great DJ community!

  5. #5
    Tech Guru tyfurious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrPopinjay View Post
    The easiest thing to do would be buying anything else to mod.

    It's cramped, expensive and features an absolutely beautiful enclosure which arcade buttons wouldn't fit on so you'd have to scrap it. Ripping it apart would be a real shame since there are plenty of other bits of kit you could work with to achieve exactly the same effect.
    Yea... I would just get an Arduino/Livid/Whatever board and start from scratch with a project that extensive.
    Traktor/Itch: Xone Dx - MidiFighter x1
    Ableton: Livid Code - iPad - KP3
    Tech: Macbook Pro 17", intel i7, 8gb RAM, 500gb HD 7200RPM

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bahamas
    Posts
    110

    Default

    hey there are projects that have been done like this before just not with an apc40 but with a novation launch pad here is the link maybe you can email the guy and he can help you out. Also here is another link that can help you as well


    This is a arcade launch pad with happ IL translucent button for the led mod which is pretty easy to do
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64084879...-launchpad-for



    Then there this monome check the video its pretty cool
    http://www.defcon6.com/?cat=15
    Last edited by Dj Noriddim; 09-18-2011 at 08:29 PM.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru tyfurious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    798

    Default

    The keyword in that situation is launchpad I believe. The APC would be a bit harder with the rotaries, varying buttons, level faders, and all (if I'm correct).
    Traktor/Itch: Xone Dx - MidiFighter x1
    Ableton: Livid Code - iPad - KP3
    Tech: Macbook Pro 17", intel i7, 8gb RAM, 500gb HD 7200RPM

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Bahamas
    Posts
    110

    Default

    I see your point that would take alot of work and would not make much sense

  9. #9
    Tech Guru tyfurious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dj Noriddim View Post
    I see your point that would take alot of work and would not make much sense
    It might be better to use an APC40 for general use and just pick up a Midifighter for whatever more extensive or difficult uses you might need arcade buttons for. If you did pull off an APC40 arcade mod you would become a God though.
    Traktor/Itch: Xone Dx - MidiFighter x1
    Ableton: Livid Code - iPad - KP3
    Tech: Macbook Pro 17", intel i7, 8gb RAM, 500gb HD 7200RPM

  10. #10
    Tech Guru dripstep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    my house in the great white north.
    Posts
    1,728

    Default

    The one thing you have to remember about modding that doesn't get mentioned enough here is this: to mod anything and add/replace buttons, you need to de-solder the components on the board. This can cause major (and expensive) issues if you happen to lift a copper pad off of the circuit board, or damage the board itself. Once a pad is ripped off, your whole unit is pretty much scrap.
    2 x gemini PT 1000 . Gemini PS-525 . X1
    NI Audio 6 . Traktor Scratch pro 2
    2007 Macbook Pro
    Quote Originally Posted by The Mighty FV View Post
    manners don't cost a thing dude - never forget that, it'll help you in all walks of life.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •