Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Best Setup for Deep House?

Hi I am relatively new to djaying. Been using a mixtrack pro w/ traktor for a while, but I really want to upgrade because I may start playing shows soon filling in for my friends. I mainly dj Deep House, So I wanted to ask all you house heads what equipment and what programs you use. also if you can post a sample or a mix you have done. My friends like to play a lot of beat heavy hip hop/witch house so they are always pressing buttons and knobs gettin the crowd goin with all their movement and energy, so I guess another question is what are some ways that I can spice up a deep house mix? Thanks

you need to do A LOT more research before asking this question for two reasons: this question pisses everyone off, and because we don't know your personal mixing style. everyone has their own, very specific preferences when mixing/producing live, so it's extremely difficult to advise you. IF you're doing deep house, and more minimal stuff, I would recommend a four deck controller. I also find it amusing that you say witch house at all, because it's such a (relatively speaking) out of sight genre. I can't imagine any specific setup would be conducive to specific styles of music. also, look into live production with Ableton.

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

My setup is a Denon DNX1600 and two X1's. I'm a little old school though so button mashing with deep house doesn't fit well imo. What does work well for me are lots of sample deck usage and a little FX usage.

paprika...
    You know the west is the best coast
    We got the best beats, we bump the best hoes

Wel, I play deep house, tech house, progressive, d&b and basically everything I like to play.

For this I nowadays use the S4 and MIDIfighter. This used to be a BCR2000 and MIDIfighter combo.

My message is: